Thursday, August 01, 2019


Jeff Wright from Forres reaches last 16

Sixty-four qualifiers from the stroke-play rounds were whittled down to 16 today as the match-play stages of the 2019 Scottish men’s amateur championship got underway on the Craighead Course at Crail.

 Hilton Park’s Lachlan Reynolds will tee it up on Friday morning after knocking out the top seed, Bruntsfield’s Stuart McLaren.  Reynolds had earlier progressed to the last-32 with a one-hole victory over Rob MacGregor. 
Crail member, George Burns is also safely through to the last 16 following two impressive victories: 6 and 5 over Gary Wright (Bonnybridge) in the morning and then a stunning 7 and 6 win in the afternoon against Dan Lawrence (Ballumbie Castle).
Speaking to Scottish Golf after his last-32 victory, Burns said:

 “Playing at my home course has been fun, I know the course well and I had some success here earlier in the year when I played in the Battle Trophy tournament and I think both of those factors have allowed me to be confident with my lines off the tee.  
“I haven’t felt too much extra pressure to be honest, I am just planning on sticking to my game and seeing what happens one round at a time.”  
One of the biggest winners of the afternoon was Australia-based Joshua Greer, who cruised to a 6 and 5 victory against Gullane’s Tom Simmonds after beating Liam Duncan (Dunnikier Park) 2 and 1 in the morning.
Greer said later: “I played two really tough games today but managed to come through. I wasn’t playing particularly well in the stroke-play competition earlier in the week but was able to go away and work a few things out which helped.
 “I have lived in Australia for the last eight years but always tend to come back home at this time of year to compete in a few competitions both in the UK and in the USA. It has been nice to be back home and being able to play in nice weather up at Crail. It is not always fun when the weather is poor.”  

Joining Greer in Friday’s last 16 is Kilmacolm’s Matt Clark who chalked up a 5 and 3 victory in the morning against Longniddry’s David Rudd, who had earlier in the week shot a course record 60 on the Balcomie course.
Clark followed that up with a 3 and 2 win in the afternoon against Carnoustie’s former Scottish boys' champion, Will Porter.  
However, Euan McIntosh’s defence of his Scottish men’s amateur title ended at the last-64 stage when the Turnhouse member was beaten on the last green by John Paterson (St Andrews New).  Paterson is still in the hunt to win the title himself after winning his last-32 tie against Millport’s Craig Pirie 4 and 3.  
One former winner who is still in with a chance of picking up a second title is Ralston’s Calum MacAulay.  The 2008 champion put in a solid performance today with a narrow win down the last in the morning, followed by a more comfortable 4 and 3 victory in the afternoon.
Jeff Wright (pictured) from Forres is through to the third round with good prospects of making even more progress.


S McLaren (Bruntsfield) bt C O'Toole (Craigmillar Park) 3 and 2.
L Reynolds (Hilton Park) bt R Macgregor (Tehidy Park) 1 hole.
T Simmonds (Gullane) bt M Naysmith (Dalmahoy) 4 and 3.
J Greer (Joondalup) bt L Duncan (Dunnikier Park) 2 and 1.

J Wright (Forres) bt F Milne (Banchory) 4 and 2.
S Blair (Royal Musselburgh) bt J Roberts (Muckhart) 2 and 1
L Irvine (Kirkhill) bt C Scott (Nairn) 2 and 1.
R Copland (Moray) bt A McNaughton (Caldwell) at 19th.

A Carrick (Craigielaw) bt R Dallas (Forfar) 4 and 2.
A Davidson (Charleton) bt W Walker (Glenbervie) 3 and 2
C Leith (Royal Aberdeen) bt A Thurlow (Murrayfield) 1 hole.
C MacAulay (Ralston) bt A Gibson (St Andrews New) 2 holes.

W Porter (Carnoustie) bt E Mair (Buckpool) 2 holes.
M Clark (Kilmacolm) bt D Rudd (Longniddry) 5 and 3.
S Marc (Broomieknowe) bt K Cantley (Liberton) 1 hol.
G Graham (Blairgowrie) bt D Smith (Portlethen) 2 and 1.

J Paterson (St Andrews New) bt Euan McIntosh (Turnhouse)
 1 hole.
C Pirie (Millport) bt M Napier (Turnhouse) 1 hole.
C Wilson (Castle Park) bt H George (Downfield) 2 and 1.
J Broun (Ayr Belleisle) bt G Brown (Cathkin Braes) 7 and 6

S Thurlow (Murrayfield) bt M Brodie (Alyth) 2 and 1.
L Dobbelaar (Brookwater) bt A Hall (Kilspindie) 2 holes.
E Wheat (Royal Montrose) bt J Wilson (Balmore) 2 holes.
D Howie (Peebles) bt A O'Hagan (Old Ranfurly) 1 hole.

G Ingram (Hazlehead) bt M Cowie (Dumfries ad Co) 3 and 2.
M Rickard (Cupar) bt R Mallon (Kingsfield) 2 and 1.
A Saleem (St Andrews New) bt S Graham (Blairgowrie) 3 and 2.
M S S Smyth (Royal Troon) bt M Miller (Lundin) 3 and 2.

G Burns (Crail) bt G Wright (Bonnybridge) 6 and 5.
D Lawrence (Ballumbie Castle) bt F McKenna (Royal Aberdeen) 7 and 6.
C Daun (Nairn) bt A L Fernie (Bruntsfield Links) 4 and 2.
Eric McIntosh (Bruntsfield Links) bt L Waldron (Royal Aberdeen) 2 holes.

Reynolds bt McLaren 3 and 1.
Greer bt Simmonds 6 and 5.
Wright bt Blair 1 hole.
Irvine bt Copland 4 and 3.

Carrick bt Davidson 2 and 1
MacAulay bt Leith 4 and 3.
Clark bt Porter 3 and 2
Marc bt Graham 3 and 2

Paterson bt Pirie 4 and 3.
Wilson bt Broun 4 and 2.
Dobbelaar bt Thurlow 4 and 2.
Howie bt Wheat 1 hole

Rickard bt Ingram 4 and 3.
Smyth bt Saleem 4 and 2.
Burns bt Lawrence 7 and 6
Eric McIntosh bt Daun 5 and 4

8.30 Reynolds v Greer
8.40 Wright v Irvine
8.50 Carrick v MacAulay
9.0   Clark v Marc

9.10 Paterson v Wilson
9.20 Dobbelaar v Howie
9.30 Rickard v Smyth
9.40 Burns v Eric McIntosh

1.30 Reynolds or Greer v Wright or Irvine
1.40 Carrick or MacAulay v Clark or Marc
1.50 Paterson or Wilson v Dobbelaar or Howie
2.00 Rickard or Smyth v Burns or McIntosh


1.30 CHAMPIONSHIP FINAL (18 holes)


Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google