Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Day 1 Report: Scottish Boys’ Amateur Championship


 Dunbar Golf Club’s Jack McDonald set the pace on Day 1 of this year’s Scottish Boys’ Amateur Championship at Blairgowrie Golf Club. Taking advantage of the better weather on Wednesday morning, McDonald carded a bogey-free round on the Lansdowne course which included four birdies on the back nine.   

Speaking to Scottish Golf after his impressive start, McDonald said, “It was a great round today, I made nine pars on the front nine and couldn’t really get putts to drop but managed to make a 70footer for birdie and then the putts started to drop which was nice. I have been playing the best golf I have so far over the last few weeks.”

Looking ahead to the rest of the week, McDonald said, “I have not qualified for the match play part of this event before so that’s the main goal and if I can do that then the next goal will be to progress as far as possible. My game is in good shape and I am feeling confident.”  

Others able to take advantage of the early start and favourable weather included local Blairgowrie member Gregor Graham who was part of last week’s Scotland boys’ team that gained promotion back to Division 1 at the European Team Championships.  

Graham, who sits at three-under par after an opening round of 69, admitted that home advantage helped him get off to a strong start, saying, 

“Being a member here has been a big advantage, I know the course and it has allowed me to feel more relaxed this week knowing that I can just go out there and play without having to learn a new course. 

On last week’s European Team Championships, Graham added, “Being part of the Scotland team last week was obviously a bit different as it was a team event but I played really good golf last week which I am just trying to continue this week and get right up that leaderboard again.” 

Following tomorrow’s second round of stroke play at Blairgowrie, there will be a cut with the top-64 players and ties progressing to the match play competition which will take place from Friday to Sunday, July 19 to 21.

Blairgowrie Lansdowne par 72 SSS 71 CSS 71
68 J McDonald (Dunbar)
69 A Hawthorn (Murrayfield), T Kerr (Thornhill), L Gillies (Nairn), G Graham (Blairgowrie).
70 C D Scott (Nairn), A O'Hagan (Old Ranfurly).
71 R Laird (Falkirk), L Strath (Newmachar), J Mann (Vilamoura), F Owenson (Nairn).
72 D Bullen (Auchterarder), B Carberry (Falkirk), L Waldron (Royal Aberdeen), R Lindsay (Ayr Belleisle), J Roberts (Muckhart), F Wickenden (Nairn), L Clark (Alloa).
73 H Bent (Gullane), O Walker (Newmachar), S Sandin (Dunblane New), R McIlroy (Elderslie), C Howat (Dumfries and Co), S Hall (Craigmillar Park), R Mair (Buckpool).
74 (T28) E Orr (Newmachar)
75 (T34) E Wheat (Royal Montrose), C Sharpe (Blairgowrie), W Nicol (Nairn Dunbar).
76 (T48) D Aitken (Aboyne)
77 (T58) R Lovie (Duff House Royal), J Mann (Fortrose and Rosemarkie), R Fenwick (Deeside).


Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google