Tuesday, April 23, 2019



Thistle Kitchens put up £2,000 for top 10  in revamped NE District Order of Merit

By COLIN FARQUHARSON
With the financial support of Thistle Windows, Kitchens and Bathrooms, an Aberdeen-based company whose Chief Executive is "golf-mad" Nick Robson, the North-east District men's Order of Merit has been revamped for the 2019 season.
"We hope to give the Order of Merit more meaning and encourage lower handicap junior golfers to enter more local Open Tournaments," said NE District secretary/treasurer George M Young.
"At the end of the season the 24 players who have amassed the most points from 11 qualifying events/opens, will be invited to Meldrum House Hotel and golf course on Sunday, September 22 to compete in the final event, to be known as the "Race to Meldrum House.

"In addition to prizes for the day, Thistle Windows, Kitchers and Bathrooms will provide approximately £2,000 in prize money to be spread over the top 10 finishers in the 2019 North-est District Order of Merit."
First prize will be a voucher worth £500, the maximum value permitted in amateur golf. Pictured above: Nick Robson (left), CEO of Thistle Windows, Kitchens and Bathrooms, and (right) the company's marketing manager Michael Queen.

The Order of Merit events are:                         GEORGE YOUNG

Sunday, May 12 - Kings Links Open (18 holes)
Sunday, May 26 - Phillips Trophy (36) @ Murcar Links
Sunday, June 2- Brangan Cup (36) @ Duff House Royal, Banff
Sunday, June 23 - Portlethen (18) 
Saturday, July 6 - Newmachar (36)
Sunday, July 7 - Murcar Links (18)
Saturday, July 20 - Kemnay (18)
Saturday, August 3 - Ballater (36)
Saturday, August 10 - Banchory (36)
Saturday/Sunday, August 17/18 - NE District Open (73) @Portlethen
Sunday, September 15 - Royal Aberdeen (18)
Sunday, September 22 - Race to Meldrum House Final (18)

Points allocation per event:
18 holes: 1st 15pt, 2nd 12pt, 3rd 10pt, 4th 8pt, 5th 6pt, 6th 5pt, 7th 4pt, 8th 3pt, 9th 2pt, 10th 1pt.
36 holes: 30 - 24 - 20 - 16 - 12 - 10 - 8 - 6 - 4 - 2.
72 holes: 45- 36 - 30 - 24 - 18  15 - 12- 9 - 6 - 3.


            
                   WOODSIDE ROAD, BRIDGE OF DON



Labels:

0 Comments:

Post a comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google