Wednesday, April 24, 2019



The R and A has announced an initial squad of 26 players who are in contention for selection to the Great Britain and Ireland team to play the United States in the 47th Walker Cup match at Royal Liverpool.
The biennial encounter will be played on Saturday 7 and Sunday 8 September with GB and I aiming to win back the trophy after losing 19-7 at the Los Angeles Country Club two years ago.
Craig Watson, GB and I captain, said, “We have selected a talented group of players who are all in contention for a place in the team to play the United States and will be continuing to monitor the form and results of these players over the course of the season.   
“We will also be looking closely at the performances of other players who have not been included in the squad and there is still time for them to play their way into our plans ahead of the final team selection later this year.”
2018 R and A Boys Amateur champion Conor Gough, leads a strong contingent of 12 players from England included in the squad. Tom Sloman, who won the 2019 Copa Sotagrande recently, and SANLAM Cape Province Open champion Thomas Plumb also feature in the group.  
Six players from Scotland have been chosen, including 2019 African Amateur champion, Euan Walker and reigning Scottish Amateur champion, Euan McIntosh. Sandy Scott, who won the El Macero Classic earlier this month, Marquette Intercollegiate champion Ryan Lumsden, Kieran Cantley and Jamie Stewart are also in Watson’s plans. 
Conor Purcell, who won the 2019 Australian Amateur Championship, is among five players from Ireland to feature in Watson’s squad. He is joined by 2019 West of Ireland Amateur champion Caolan Rafferty, 2018 Eisenhower Trophy player John Murphy, Mark Power and James Sugrue.
2018 Irish Boys Amateur champion Archie Davies, Ben Chamberlain and Jake Hapgood are the three players from Wales.
The players selected for the GB and I squad are:
Jake Burnage, Saunton, 23
John Murphy, Kinsale, 20
Kieran Cantley, Liberton, 21
Joseph Pagdin, Lake Nona, 17
Ben Chamberlain, Padeswood and Buckley, 21
Thomas Plumb, Yeovil, 20
Archie Davies, Carlisle, 17
Mark Power, Kilkenny, 18
Alex Fitzpatrick, Hallamshire, 20
Conor Purcell, Portmarnock, 21
Bailey Gill, Lindrick, 21
Caolan Rafferty, Dundalk, 26
Conor Gough, Stoke Park, 16
Sandy Scott, Nairn, 20
David Hague, Malton and Norton, 22
Tom Sloman, Taunton and Pickeridge, 22
Harry Hall, West Cornwall, 21
Jamie Stewart, Old Course Ranfurly, 19
Jake Hapgood, Southerndown, 22
James Sugrue, Mallow, 22
Benjamin Jones, Northamptonshire County, 19
Tom Thurloway, Chartham Park, 21
Ryan Lumsden, Royal Wimbledon, 22
Euan Walker 
Kilmarnock (Barassie), 23
Euan McIntosh, Turnhouse, 50
Robin Williams, Peterborough Milton, 17

The squad will gather at Royal Liverpool for a practice session next week, after which the number of players will be reduced for a second practice session in July. The final ten-man GB and I team will be announced in August.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google