Thursday, March 07, 2019

Nairn's  Sandy Scott named for 

Arnold Palmer Cup match at 

Arkansas venue in June

The Arnold Palmer Cup teams for both the International and United States were announced late last night at the Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard at Bay Hill Club and Lodge. Long-time Arnold Palmer partner Rolex is continuing its 50 year relationship through its support of the matches which will be hosted by The Alotian Club, Arkansas, from June 7-9.
The International team is represented by 17 countries across six continents. Five players return from last summer’s matches, including Luis Gagne (LSU/Costa Rica), Jiwon Jeon (Alabama/Repulic of Korea), Jovan Reula (Auburn/South Africa), Patty Tavatanakit (UCLA/Thailand), and Albane Valenzuela (Stanford/Switzerland). 
International men’s ranking selections were Chun An Yu (Arizona State/Taiwan), Matthias Schmid (Louisville/Germany), Peng Pichaikool (Mississippi State/Thailand), Sandy Scott (Texas Tech/Scotland), pictured, Ivan Ramirez (Texas Tech/Colombia), and Kengo Aoshima (Wake Forest/Japan) and women’s ranking selections included Frida Kinhult (Florida State/Sweden), Tavatanakit, Hira Naveed (Pepperdine/Australia), Julie McCarthy (Auburn/Ireland), Valenzuela, and Jeon of South Korea.
McCarthy (Forrest Little) has now shot par or better in six of her last eight tournament rounds, including two rounds in the 60s and is currently ranked eleventh in the Golfstat NCAA Rankings.
The highest ranked GB and I Collegiate golfer, McCarthy was an automatic selection for the 2019 Arnold Palmer Cup International Team and joins Olivia Mehaffey (Royal Co Down Ladies) and Chloe Ryan (Castletroy) as AP Cup representatives since female players were introduced to the long-standing event in 2018.
A spot on the International side will be reserved for both a men’s and women’s golfer for The R and A Scholar Tournament Champion, which will be held at St. Andrews April 1-2. The four coach’s picks will be announced May 3 on Golf Channel’s Morning Drive.
Men’s Arnold Palmer Cup Ranking Selections
Chun An Yu, Arizona State (Taiwan)
Matthias Schmid, Louisville (Germany)
Peng Pichaikool, Mississippi State (Thailand)
Sandy Scott, Texas Tech (Scotland)
Ivan Ramirez, Texas Tech (Colombia)
Kengo Aoshima, Wake Forest (Japan)
Women’s Arnold Palmer Cup Ranking Selections 
Frida Kinhult, Florida State (Sweden)
Patty Tavatanakit, UCLA (Thailand)
Hira Naveed, Pepperdine (Australia)
Julie McCarthy, Auburn (Ireland)
Albane Valenzuela, Stanford (Switzerland)
Jiwon Jeon, Alabama (Republic of Korea)
Committee Selections
Ana Belac, Duke (Slovenia)
Alex Del Rey, Arizona State (Spain)
Luis Gagne, LSU (Costa Rica)
Lois Kaye Go, South Carolina (Philippines)
Leonie Harm, Houston (Germany)
Takumi Kanaya, Tohoku Fukushi (Japan)
Agathe Laisne, Texas (France)
Jovan Rebula, Auburn (South Africa)
The R and A Foundation Scholars Tournament Champions
Contested April 1-2
Coach’s Picks
Announced May 3 on Golf Channel’s Morning Drive
Head Coach - Jan Dowling, Michigan - Canada
Head Coach - Mark Immelman, Columbus State - South Africa
Assistant Coach - Robert Duck, Florida State - England
Assistant Coach - Ria Quiazon Scott, Virginia - Philippines
United States
Men’s Arnold Palmer Cup Ranking Selections Peter Kuest, BYU
Alex Smalley, Duke
Will Gordon, Vanderbilt
Will Grimmer, Ohio State
Cole Hammer, Texas
Brandon Wu, Stanford
Women’s Arnold Palmer Cup Ranking Selections
Mariel Galdiano, UCLA
Dylan Kim, Arkansas
Jennifer Chang, Southern California
Malia Nam, Southern California
Haylee Harford, Furman
Kaitlyn Papp, Texas
Committee Selections
John Augenstein, Vanderbilt
Abbey Carlson, Vanderbilt
Hailee Cooper, Texas
Quade Cummins, Oklahoma
Austin Eckroat, Oklahoma State
Stephanie Lau, Northwestern
Emilia Migliaccio, Wake Forest
Ann Parmerter, Dallas Baptist
Chandler Phillips, Texas A and M
Alex Scott, Grand Valley State
Coach’s Picks
To be announced May 3 on Golf Channel’s Morning Drive
Head Coach - Scott Limbaugh, Vanderbilt
Head Coach - Mic Potter, Alabama
Assistant Coach - Lauren Dobashi, Stanford
Assistant Coach - Corey Maggard, Auburn
new email strip
Carla Reynolds
Irish Ladies Golf Union | Junior Development, Public Relations and Communication


Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google