Monday, February 04, 2019

From R and A/USGA
For Immediate Publication
OFFICIAL STATEMENT
February 2, 2019, St Andrews and Liberty Corner, New Jersey
 
Following an ongoing dialogue with players and in co-operation with the US PGA TOUR rules team, The R and A and the USGA revisited the penalty assessed to Denny McCarthy during round two of the Waste Management Open. After an additional review of available video this morning, it was determined that the penalty would not apply in this instance nor in a similar instance involving Justin Thomas.
In each of these cases, when the caddie was standing behind the player, the player had not yet begun taking the stance for the stroke, nor could useful guidance on aiming be given because the player was still in the process of determining how to play the stroke. The same would be true for any similar situation that might occur.
 
The R and A and the USGA recognise that clarity on how to appropriately apply this Rule is needed. We are committed to assessing its impact and will provide the necessary clarifications in the coming days.
 
 

Labels:

0 Comments:

Post a comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google