Wednesday, July 04, 2018

Xact Scottish U18 boys championship results

Nairn's Calum Daun beats defending champion Greg Dalziel at Lossie

Nairn Golf Club will have three representatives in the last 16 of the Xact Scottish Under-18 boys' championship over Moray Golf Club's Lossiemouth links on Thursday morning.
In this afternoon's second round, Calum Daun of the Nairn club toppled the defending champion Greg Dalziel (Airdrie) by 3 and 2.
Dalziel had KO'd Matty Wilson (Forres) 2 and 1 in the morning's opening ties but Daun was snapping Dalziel's heels right from the start and eventually pulled away from his opponent over the closing holes.
Nairn's second winner in the second round was Fraser Owenson who beat Gregor McKenzie (Kirtlington) by 4 and 3 . Owenson's next opponent is Royal Aberdeen's Liam Waldron who was seventh of the 64 match-play qualifiers and has been in good form this season.
The third Nairn player to reach the last 16 was the highly-rated Calum Scott who had a tighter match than might have been expected against Aamar Saleem (St Andrews New). The tie was still in the balance with sixth seed Scott one up after 16 but Calum clinched victory by winning the 17th for the match.

Top seed Aidan O'Hagan (Old Ranfurly), Scottish schoolboys champion last year, marched on without having to play the last two holes in either his first or second-round ties. 
Australia-based Joshua Greer, beaten finalist last year, is still in there with a chance of going one better this time round. He reached the third round after 7pm by beating  Jack James Lockhart (Pitreavie) on the 18th green.
No 2 seed Ruben Lindsay (Ayr Belleisle) was beaten in the last match to come off the course in the evening sunshine. One up on the 17th tee against Lewis Irvine (Kirkhill), Lindsay lost two of the last three holes, being beaten at the 19th.

In the girls' scratch championship, title-holder and leading qualifier Hannah Darling (Broomieknowe) beat M O'Brien (Reay) by 9 and 8. Youngest ever girls champion at the age of 13 last year, Hannah looks in a different class to the rest of the small field.   
There was one surprise result - Aberdeenshire's youngest ever women's county champion, Carmen Griffiths (Aboyne) lost by one hole to Grace Crawford (Gullane).
Nairn's Tan sisters, Katrina and Emily, have both reached the semi-finals of the girls' handicap championship and are in opposite halves of the draw … so an all-Tan final is a possibility!

Moray Golf Club, Lossiemouth FIRST ROUND
A O'Hagan (Old Ranfurly) bt H Clark (Auchterarder) 4 and 2.
J Roberts (Muckhart) bt E Wheat (Royal Montrose) 1 hole.
J Marchbank (Dumfries and Galloway) bt C O'Toole (Craigmillar Park) at 20th.
F Sey (St Andrews New) bt B Clark (Alloa) 1 hole.

A Hall (Kilspindie) bt G Graham (Blairgowrie) 4 and 2.
C Wilson (Castle Park) bt C Johnstone (Troon Welbeck) at 19th.
S Sandin (St Andrews New) bt L Bryce-Maynard (Moray) at 19th.
L Brown (Surbiton) bt B Caton (St Andrews New) at 22nd.

E Orr (Newmachar) bt O Walker (Murcar Links) 2 holes.
T Kerr (Thornhill) bt J Mann (Vilamoura) 1 hole.
P Norris (Bothwell Castle) bt S A Pears (Nairn) 5 and 4.
J Broun (Ayr Belleisle) bt R Cromarty (Nairn) 3 and 2.

G Dalziel (Airdrie) bt M Wilson (Forres) 2 and 1.
C G Daun (Nairn) bt H Rogan (Haddington) 2 and 1.
D Walsh (Lochgelly) bt R Barclay (Carnoustie Caledonia) at 20th.
A Simpson (Strathmore) bt E Gray (Duff House Royal) 2 and 1.

G McKenzie (Kirtlington) bt C Robinson (Troon Welbeck) 3 and 2.
F Owenson (Nairn) bt M Brooks (Craigmillar Park) 3 and 2.
C Akers (Ladybank) bt J Pike (Clober) 3 and 2.
L Waldron (Royal Aberdeen) bt T Findlay (Buckpool) 7 and 6

A Thornton (Muckhart) bt D Bullen (Auchterarder) 3 and 2
C Campbell (Murrayfield bt C Murray (Mortonhall) 4 and 3.
C Sharpe (Blairgowrie) bt A Murphy (Ralston) 2 and 1.
M Cowie (Dumfries and Co) bt C McKinney (Australia) at 19th

C Leeson (Pitreavie) bt B Carberry (Falkirk) 5 and 3.
C Adam (Royal Burgess) bt c Ledingham (Craigmillar Park) 6 and 5.
A Saleem (St Andrews New) bt C Jackman (Dunblane New) 1 hole.
C D Scott (Nairn) bt J Jack (Millport) 6 and 5.

J Greer (Australia) bt R McAuley (Fereneze) 5 and 4.
J J Lockhart (Pitreavie) bt F Wickenden (Nairn) 2 and 1.
L Irvine (Kirkhill) bt S Logue (Royal Montrose) 3 and 2
R Lindsay (Ayr Belleisle) bt F Copland (Dumfries and Galloway) 4 and 3

O'Hagan bt Roberts 3 and 2
Sey bt Marchbank 7 and 6.
Wilson bt Hall 1 hole.

Brown bt Sandin at 19th.

Orr bt Kerr 2 holes.
Broun bt Norris 2 and 1.
Daun bt Dalziel 3 and 2
Walsh bt Simpson 3 and 2.

Owenson bt McKenzie 4 and 3.
Waldron bt Akers 2 holes

Thornton bt Campbell 1 hole
Cowie bt Sharpe 2 and 1.

Leeson bt Adam 3 and 2
Scott bt Saleem 2 and 1

Greer bt Lockhart 1 hole.
Irvine bt Lindsay at 19th





Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google