Saturday, July 21, 2018

McLeary wins Montrose pro-am with tournament low of nine-under 62

Jamie McLeary (Deer Park) won the first prize of £1,208.52 in today's (Sat) Montrose Links pro-am with a nine-under-par round of 62 - the lowest score by a professional in the tournament's history but one above the course record.

McLeary, pictured after another winning finish, started with a bogey but then reeled off birdies at the third, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth in an outward half of four-under 32. After the turn he birdied the 10th and 13th, bogeyed the 14th, before finishing with four successive birdies for an inward half of five under 30.
With a total bag of 11 birdies, McLeary won for the second time this Tartan Tour season by one stroke from Neil Fenwick (Dunbar) (32-31) and Gareth Hardy (Prestwick St Nicholas) (30-33). Hardy ruined his victory chance by bogeying the 14th and 17th. The co-runners-up earned £845.71 each. 
Graham Fox (Clydeway Golf) led the DWG Services amateur trio of Dean Greig (handicap 15), Billy Taylor (1) and Megan Robb (2) to victory in the pro-am team event with a net total of 120. The pros attached to the first five teams each received £145:
120 G Fox. 121 N Fenwick. 123 G Hay. 124, G McBain, S O'Hara.
Twenty-three of the field of 29 pros scored under the par of 71.
Par 71
62 J McLeary (Deer Park) £1,208.
63 N Fenwick (Dunbar), G Hardy (Prestwick St Nicholas) £845 each.
66 G Wright (West Linton), P McKechnie (Braid Hills), S Binning (Mearns Castle), P O'Hara (N Lanarkshire Leisure) £414 each.
67 K Nicol (Dunes), G Fox (Clydeway Golf), G Hay (Mearns Castle) £234 each.
68 G McBain (Newmachar), R McConnachie (Peterculter), C Ronald (Carluke), A Tait (59 Club), S O'Hara (N Lanarkshire Leisure) £157 each.
69 C McMaster (Downfield), L Vannet (Craibstone), A Forsyth (Mearns Castle), G Hutcheon (Paul Lawrie GC), N Huguet (Musselburgh), J Dick (Duddingston), J Steven (Pumpherston) £69 each.
70 G Brown (Montrose Links).
71 S Henderson (Kings Links), S Gray (Lanark), C Marr (Musselburgh).
72 J McCready (Largs),  K Zeynalov (Portlethen).
74 C Currie (Erskine). 



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google