Sunday, May 06, 2018

Kyle Godsman is North District champion, Moray win team title

North District championship prizewinners at Tain GC today. L to R: back row, Jake Williamson and Lewis Reid (both Fortrose and  Rosemarkie). Front row: Michael Schinkel (Royal Dornoch), Graeme Ross (Tain GC captain), Kyle Godsman, Peter Abbott (North District secretary), Graham Murray with Team Trophy won by Moray. Picture and caption by Robin Wilson.

Kyle Godsman (Moray), who has a handicap of +3, won the North District men's individual championship at Tain Golf Club today (Sunday) with rounds of 68 (34-34) and 66 (35-31) for a total of six-under-134, writes Robin Wilson.
It is his second win in the tournament following his 2013 success when Royal Dornoch was the venue.
Godsman's total helped Moray to win the North District team title with a total of 289. Team-mate Graham Murray had scores of 80 and 75 for 155.
Forres finished second with 290, their better third card pushing them ahead of third-placed Fortrose and Rosemarkie who also totalled 290.
The Moray team go forward to the Scottish area final at Kinross Golf Club on Sunday, September 23.
Michael Schinkel (Royal Dornoch), a 20-year-old student at the University of Highlands and Islands, won the youths title for the Murray Watt Trophy
Godsman birdied the fourth, sixth and 12th in his morning round. His only first-round bogey came at the second hole. In the afternoon he had a bogey-free 66, with birdies at the seventh, eighth, 10th, 11th, 12th and 17th 

Prize List – North District Championship 2018
Tain GC
CSS Rd1   72           CSS Rd2 72
Pos. Prize Player / Club 1st/2nd Total
1st      Association Cup, Silver Medal and £200 Voucher
              Kyle Godsman (Moray) 68/66 134
2nd      Bronze Medal and £130 Voucher
           Lewis Reid (Fortrose and Rosemarkie) 72/68 140
3rd        Murray Watt Trophy (U21) and  £100 Voucher , Silver Medal                
            *Michael Schinkel (RD) 70/70 140
4th         £70 Voucher
              Jeff Wright (Forres) 72/69 141
5th         £50 Voucher
              David Joel (Inverness) 72/71 143
6th         £40 Voucher
              R Cameron (Brora) 73/71 144
7th       £30 Voucher
              Douglas Thorburn (Wick) 73/73 146
8th         £25 Voucher
              Ewan Forbes (Inverness) 72/74 146

Youth (U 21) Prizes
1st         Michael Schinkel (Royal Dornoch) 70/70  140
2nd        Bronze Medal £75 Voucher
              Jamie MacKintosh (Nairn) 71/75 146
3rd         £55 Voucher
              Jake Williamson (Fortrose and Rosemarkie) 78/69 147
3rd        £35 Voucher
           Thomas Bell (Forres) 74/75 149
4th       £25 Voucher
              Finlay Asher (Nairn) 76/74 150

Handicap Prizes
1st         £50 Voucher
              Sean Kennedy (Tain)       141 Nett (better 2nd round)
2nd        £40 Voucher
              Lewis Fraser (Inverness)      141 Nett
3rd        £30 Voucher
             Andy Phillip (Inverness)         142


289 MORAY (Kyle Godsman and Graham Murray).
290 FORRES (Jeff Wright, Matty Wilson, Thomas Bell) (better discarded score)
290 FORTROSE and ROSEMARKIE 1 (Allan Cameron, Chris Gaittens, Lewis Reid)
291 INVERNESS 1 (J Keith, D Joel, K MacKay.
293 BRORA (J G McBeath, R Cameron, R MacDonald)
294 NAIRN 2 (F Asher, R Cromarty, F Owenson).
295 FORTROSE and ROSEMARKIE 2 (G Paterson, J Williamson, B Patience).
296 WICK (D Thorburn, N Klimas, G Steven).
301 TAIN (M Ferries, G Urquhart, S Kennedy), MUIR OF ORD (J Wilson, S Johnston, S Forbes).
302 INVERNESS 2 (J Keith, B Thomson, G Forsyth).




Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google