Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Sean Lawrie wins £140 NE Alliance scratch 

prize with a 62 at Montrose

Paul Lawrie's nephew Sean Lawrie, also a professional, won the £140 first scratch prize with and eight-under-par 62 in today's North-east Golfers' Alliance at Montrose Links where the start was delayed 40min because of frost and, because of this, winter greens were in use for the first nine holes.

The use of mats for fairway shots was also mandatory but none of this seemed to inconvenience Sean (pictured) on a glorious sunny and wind-free day at the seaside.
He had nine birdies - at the first, second, fifth, seventh, ninth, 10th, 13th, 15th and 17th in halves of four-under 31. His one bogey came at the sixth. 
For Lawrie, who plays out of the Paul Lawrie Golf Centre, it was second win of the Alliance season but his first outright victory of the 2017-18 circuit.
PLGC stablemates David Law (65) and Greig Hutcheon (66) finished second and third and earned £110 and £80 respectively.
Law had seven birdies but bogeys at the fourth and 17th pulled him down to five under par.
Hutcheon saddled himself with a double bogey 6 at the first but it was his only lapse and he went on to shoot six birdies to finish four under.
Nigel Parker (Murcar Links), with a net 63 off 14, won the Class 2 handicap £70 voucher for the second week in a row and organiser Michael MacDougall will ensure that Nigel has fewer strokes to play with next week at Fraserburgh!


62 Sean Lawrie (Paul Lawrie GC)
65 D Law (Paul Lawrie GC)
66 G Hutcheon (PLGC Inchmarlo)
67 G Munro (Newmachar)
68 P Shields (Kirkhill)
69 C Gilbert (Cruden Bay), B Ritchie (Inverallochy), W Middler (Peterhead).
71 I Still (Craibstone)
72 J Duff (Newmachar), D Buchan (Peterhead)
73 S Finnie (Caledonian), C Dempster (Paul Lawrie GC), D Leslie (Bon Accord)
74 I Taylor (Newmachar), R McNeill (Westhill), S Mackie (Kemnay), B Henderson (Deeside), P Cheyne (Northern)
75 Mike Herberston (Newmachar), R Davidson (Caledonian), G Chalmers (Alford), J Pirie (Hazlehead)
76 R Reid (Tarland), C Craig (Kintore), C Duffus (Royal Aberdeen).
77 Grant Leslie (Newburgh), D Templeton (Murcar Links), N K Parker (Murcar Links), S Kidd (Longside), M Duncan (Murcar Links).
78 D Craigie (Portlethen), G Homer (Aboyne), W Beattie (Craibstone), G Thom (Murcar Links), W Skene (Deeside).
79 D Fleming (Portlethen), J Stewart (Banchory), R Ruddiman (Royal Aberdeen), M Smith (Newmachar).
80 P Walker (Cruden Bay), I Birnie (Deeside), H McNaughton (Cruden Bay), M Lawrie (Kemnay), J Borthwick (Craibstone)
81 D Booth (Tarland), D Lawrie (Deeside)
82 G Burnett (Westhill), S Shand (Kemnay), T Collie (Kemnay), P Low (Craibstone)
83 J Forrest (Northern), M Tough (Banchory), D Nelson (Aboyne), D Townsley (Peterculter)
85 R Wright (Auchmill), J Scott (Peterculter), L Roger (Royal Aberdeen)
86 R Brown (Kemnay), R Denning (Inverurie), L Duncan (Craibstone)
87 S Davidson (Kemnay), G Leslie (Deeside), L Fowler (Royal Aberdeen), R Coupar (Inverallochy)
88 M Forster (Cruden Bay).
89 M Brown (Kemnay), S Christie (Aboyne), N Stewart (Northern), M Rogers (Kemnay
91 C Cassie (Nigg Bay), J Hosie (Kemnay)

+Any player whose home club is wrongly stated or the score is wrong, please Email corrections to the same Email address.

62 S Lawrie (£140). 
65 D Law (£110).
66 G Hutcheon (£80)
67 G Munro (£60 voucher)
68 P Shields (£40).
voucher prizes
Class 1 
64 W Middler (5) (£70). 66 B Ritchie (3) (£60) bih, P Cheyne (£80) (£50). 68 I Still (3) (£40) bih, M Herbertson (7) (£30).
Class 2
63 N K Parker (14) (£70). 64 D Lawrie (17) (£60). 66 G Thom (12) (£50). 67 G Homer (11) (£40) bih, M Smith (12) (£30)



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google