Sunday, August 27, 2017

Bon Accord's Edmond and Greig win Simmers

Trophy a fourth time at Cruden Bay

 Barrie Edmond (left) and Matthew Greig (right) with NE District president David Fleming (centre) and the Simmers Trophy. Picture by Cal Carson Golf Agency.

Bon Accord's Barrie Edmond and Matthew Greig won the North-east District foursomes championship for the Simmers Trophy a fourth time in perfect golfing weather at Cruden Bay Golf Club today.
Edmond and Greig returned an alternate-shot score of three-under-par 67 with birdies at the seventh, eighth, 11th, 15th and 18th, offset by bogeys at the 12th and 17th in halves of 34-33.
They won by a single shot from the home course pairing of Laurie Phillips and James Booth with Murcar Links (Anthony Bews and Adrian Styles) third on 72.
Phillips and Booth had birdies at the second, 13th, 14th and 15th in halves of 37-31. They bogeyed the first and fifth before they got into the swing of things.
Barrie Edmond thinks he has actually won the Simmers Trophy five times in all but he cannot remember the Bon Accord clubmate that partnered him before he struck up a successful playing relationship with Matthew Greig!
So what's the secret of very good foursomes play?
"They say it's 'Never complain, never explain' to your partner but I think if you hit all the fairways off the tee you are hard to beat," said multiple Aberdeen Links champion Edmond.

+The Simmers Trophy has been on the go since the 1950s and it is a bit worse for the wear with a few dents on it and one of the handles a bit loose. So Messrs Edmond and Greig won't actually get the trophy to display in the Bon Accord clubhouse until it has been to a jewellers for repair. District president David Fleming is going to see to that.
At the same time, the names of the winners for 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017 will be inscribed.

Cruden Bay Golf Club
Par 70
67 BON ACCORD 1 (B Edmond and M Greig)
68 CRUDEN BAY 1 (L Phillips and J Booth).
72 MURCAR LINKS (A Bews and A Styles)
74 McDONALD ELLON (J Godward and A Dunton)
76 WESTHILL (B McHattie and K Coutts)
77 BANCHORY 2 (B  Milne and M Lawrence), ROYAL ABERDEEN (M Halliday and D Raitt)
78 DEESIDE (A Ross and K Ingram), NIGG BAY 2 (G Grimmer and L O'Connor)
79 NORTHERN 2 (G Clark and S Slessor), BANCHORY 1 (J Harling and D Brand), CALEDONIAN 1 (A Doig and B Reid)
80 PORTLETHEN (K Daglish and S Wallace), DUFF HOUSE ROYAL 2 (M Jenkins and I Angus)
81 NORTHERN 1 (C Johnstone and L Minty), TURRIFF (A Ogg and J Dalgarno)
82 CRUDEN BAY 2 (L Cruickshanks and M Christie)
83 DUFF HOUSE ROYAL 1 (N Campbell and C Mathieson)
84 BON ACCORD 2 (M Smith and R Allerton), NIGG BAY 1 (R Forbes and P Burnett).
88 PETERCULTER (A Hicks and J Kennedy)

NR CALEDONIAN 2 (M Beattie and W Ross)



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google