Monday, June 05, 2017

On-form players set to showcase Tartan Tour
talent in Northern Open at Lossiemouth
If recent scoring on the Tartan Tour is anything to go by, this week's Northern Open at Moray Golf Club in Lossiemouth promises to be a mouth-watering affair.
The 72-hole event has been preceded by a run of sensational golf on the PGA in Scotland circuit in pro-ams, suggesting the standard of play has hit a new high.
Caldwell's Christopher Currie sparked the hot streak when he won at Portpatrick with an eight-under-par 62, a new course record.
Paul O'Hara then got in on the act, first carding a nine-under 61 at Largs then backing that up with an eight-under 63 at Bishopbriggs.
The first effort saw the North Lanarkshire Leisure Ltd-attached player trim two shots off the course record while the second earned him a share of that one.
Another 61, this time a 10-under effort, was then produced at Pollok by former European Tour player Alastair Forsyth (Mearns Castle Golf Academy).
PGA in Scotland secretary Shona Malcolm said: “The standard of golf on the Tartan Tour so far this year has been incredible. The bar has definitely been raised, and the players are showcasing their talent everywhere they go. 
"Play of this quality sends a strong message to the outside world that the Tartan Tour is the primary tour and shop window for professional golf in Scotland, and PGA members are firmly positioned at the heart of golf.”
Forsyth has run into form at the perfect time as he bids to repeat his 1999 win in the Northern Open while the Paisley man will also be heartened by his last visit to Lossiemouth.

That was for the Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open qualifier last July, when he was among the five players to secure spots at Castle Stuart.
Greig Hutcheon (Paul Lawrie Golf Centre Inchmarlo), pictured right with the trophy, is the defending champion this week, having claimed the title for a second time in seven years at Royal Dornoch just under 12 months ago.
“Moray Golf Club has been a great supporter of the PGA in Scotland, hosting order of merit events in the last two years," added Malcolm.
"The links will provide an excellent test of golf for this year’s Northern Open, and will challenge the field to continue the low scoring that has become the norm in the last few events.”

To view Tuesday's first-round tee times for the championship which starts on Tuesday,


Recent winners of the Northern Open:

2016: Greig Hutcheon
2015: Chris Kelly
2014: David Law
2013: James Byrne
2012: James Byrne
2011: David Law (Am) 

2010: Greig Hutcheon
2009: Craig Lee
2008: Chris Doak
2007: Murray Urquhart
2006: Jason McCreadie
2005: Chris Doak
2004: Jason McCreadie
2003: Gordon Law
2002: Fraser Mann
2001: Graham Rankin
2000: Jim Payne 

 1999: Alastair Forsyth
1998: Lee James
1997: David Thomson
1996: Scott Henderson
1995: Joe Higgins
1994: Kevin Stables
1993: Kevin Stables
1992: Peter Smith
1991: Craig Cassells



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google