Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Maverick McNealy wins Ben Hogan Award

Stanford's Maverick McNealy added another feather to his cap this week: the prestigious Ben Hogan Award, given annually to the  best collegiate golfer in the United States. 
It was his third time being a finalist for the award, but his first time winning. As part of his prize, he will receive an exemption into the 2018 Dean and DeLuca Invitational. Past winners of the award, which goes to the top men's college golfer, include Jon Rahm and Rickie Fowler.
McNealy, a senior at Stanford University, tied Tiger Woods' record for most wins while at the school this fall. He is currently No. 2 in the World Amateur Ranking. In 2015, as a sophomore, McNealy won the Haskins Award, a title previously claimed by the likes of Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods and Ben Crenshaw.
Although he's considered a top prospect for a pro career once he leaves Stanford, McNealy has expressed ambivalence in the past about following that path. 



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google