Wednesday, September 21, 2016


Winner Ross Cameron (left) is congratulated by Joel Hopwood, the NE Alliance joint secretary. Picture by Cal Carson Golf Agency.

Peterhead born and based Ross Cameron (Saltire Energy) learned to play golf in the "Buchan breeze" so no problem for him to cop
 cope well with a strong wind to post a three-under-par 69 and win the North-east Alliance by two strokes at the head of a field of 94 over the Newmachar Golf Club's Hawkshill course today (WED).
With the £150 sponsorship of Mike Smith, proprietor of the Banks of Ury hotel in Inverurie adding £10 to all the prizewinners' cash (pros) or vouchers (amateurs), Cameron collected a first prize of £160  with halves of 36 and 33 which included birdies at the eighth, 14th, 16th and 17th. He had one bogey, at the fifth.
"It's not easy to hold it all together when it's as windy as that," said Ross, "so I was quite pleased to get it round in three under par. I drove well, hit my irons well and my short game was good."
Cameron heads off to Germany for his next event but, more important for his future activities, is the upcoming European Tour Qualifying School Stage 2 competition.
Motherwell's Ross Kellett (Paul Lawrie Golf Centre) was the only other player to return a sub-par round. He shot a one-under 71 with halves of 34 and 37.
Three under par on the 12th tee, having birdied the second, fifth, seventh and 11th with only one bogey, at the third, Kellett had the chance to register a winning score but he bogeyed the 12th, 14th and 15th before closing with a birdie at the 18th.
David Law (Paul Lawrie Golf Centre), two-handicap amateur Cameron Grant (Portlethen) and Kevin Duncan (Paul Lawrie Golf Centre) tied for third place with 72s.
There were 21 no returns - a sure sign that the wind made life difficult for the average player. 



Newmachar GC, Hawkshill course

Par 72
69 R Cameron (Saltire Energy).
71 R Kellett (Paul Lawrie GC).
72 D Law (Paul Lawrie GC), C Grant (Portlethen), K Duncan (Paul Lawrie GC).
73 P McKenna (Paul Lawrie GC), J Duff (Newmachar), G McBain (Newmachar)
74 G Munro (Fraserburgh), G Esson (Portlethen), D Brown (Kemnay), J Calder (Newmachar)
75 C Law (Northern), P McLean (Paul Lawrie GC), D Adam (Oldmeldrum)
76 P Morrison (Oldmeldrum), J Hopwood (Royal Aberdeen), A Dunton (McDonald Ellon), S Roger (Cruden Bay).
77 I Still (Craibstone)
78 C Nelson (Mackenzie Shop), B Fyfe (Paul Lawrie GC)
79 S Griffiths (Duff House Royal), F Milne (Banchory), C Dempster (Paul Lawrie GC), I Esslemont (Cruden Bay)
80 S Kiloh (Paul Lawrie GC), C Duffus (Royal Aberdeen)
81 R Davidson (Caledonian)
82 C Cassie (Nigg Bay), K Zeynalov (Portlethen), P Stewart (McDonald Ellon)
83 S Hanson (Paul Lawrie GC), M Merchant (Newmachar), K Beveridge (Kippie Lodge).
84 G McLaggan (Bon Accord), S Mackie (Kemnay), P Cheyne (Northern), J Borthwick (Craibstone)
85 R Reid (Tarland), G Cochrane (Kemnay)
86 S Scott (Hazlehead), M Lawrie (Kemnay)
87 M Downie (Portlethen), G Chalmers (Alford), D Fleming (Portlethen), J Emslie (Royal Aberdeen), S Allison (Caledonian), D Nelson (Aboyne)
88 R Macrae (Newmachar), J Forrest (Northern), J Stewart (Banchory),
89 H Roulston (Stonehaven), R Lamb (Newmachar)
90 M Allan (Hazlehead), J Barclay (Hazlehead), D Lane (Hazlehead), P Craig (Kintore), M Forster (Cruden Bay)
92 S Shand (Kemnay), R Duncan (Deeside).
93 D Booth (Tarland), L Fowler (Royal Aberdeen)
94 B Lumsden (Northern)
95 R Brown (Kemnay), S Davidson (Northern), R Denning (Inverurie).
96 J Howie (Kemnay), L Duncan (Northern)
97 R Ruddiman (Royal Aberdeen)
98 D Wright (Portlethen), S Christie (Aboyne)
100 G Moir (Oldmeldrum)
101 H Macnaughtan (Cruden Bay)
109 D Lawrie (Inchmarlo)

NRs D Cassie (Nigg Bay), K Daglish (Portlethen), G Paterson (Northern), M Rendall (Stonehaven), G Adamson (Stonehaven), N Chisholm (Kemnay), M Brown (Kemnay), M Donaldson  (Inverurie), D Craigie (Portlethen), D Leslie (Bon Accord), G Homer (Bon Accord), M Smith (Inverurie), G Mackie (Caledonian), W Beattie (Craibstone), J Crawford (Craibstone), K McGillivary (Craibstone), A Graham (Aboyne), R Tulloch (Kemnay), L Roger (Royal Aberdeen), M Rogers (Kemnay), P Low (Craibstone)

Class 1 - D Adam (Kemnay) (5) 70; P Morrison (Oldmeldrum) (5) 71; C Law (Northern) (3) 72; I Still (Craibstone) (3) bih, G Esson (Portlethen) (scr) 74.
Class 2 - G Cochrane (Kemnay) (10) 75; N K Parker (Murcar Links) (14) 76; J Forrest (Northern) (11) 77; R Brown (Kemnay) (17) 78; M Allan (Hazlehead) (10) 80 bih.




Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google