Tuesday, July 19, 2016

Qualifying at four Angus venues for Senior Open at Carnoustie, starting Thursday

Eight-hole play-off at Montrose on Monday

Paraguayan Carlos Franco will join his brother Angel, a member of the European Senior Tour, at the Senior Open Championship Presented by Rolex, teeing off at Carnoustie on Thursday, as one of 38 successful Monday qualifiers for this year’s tournament.
Franco topped the leaderboard at Panmure Golf Club, one of four qualifying venues yesterday, after carding a two under par 68.
Fellow Senior Tour regulars Jorge Berendt, Bob Cameron and former European Tour winner Andrew Murray also secured their places at Carnoustie after their rounds at Panmure.
Bidding for places in this year’s tournament were 395 golfers, with 38 qualifying to play at Carnoustie from July 21-24.
With qualifying rounds taking place at Downfield, Monifieth, Montrose and Panmure Golf Clubs, each required a play-off to determine who will be teeing up on Thursday alongside the world’s finest over-50s golfers.
Montrose Golf Club played host to a thrilling eight-hole play-off which saw Irishman Peter O’Hagan successfully qualify ahead of amateur Peter Jackson.
The pair played head-to-head for the final four play-off holes, and O’Hagan scored par on the eighth extra hole to book his place
Joel Edwards carded the lowest score at Montrose, a four-under-par 67, and five-time Senior Tour winner Nick Job finished second with a three-under-par 68.
Satoshi Oide and Stephen McNally carded the lowest rounds of the day as they each finished on five under par at Downfield and Monifieth respectively.
Former European Tour winner Stephen Bennett qualified from Downfield with a two under par 71.
The Senior Open Championship tees off on Thursday with American Marco Dawson defending the title he won last year at Sunningdale.
Dawson will face stiff competition from the likes of Miguel Angel Jiménez, three-time Senior Major winner Bernhard Langer and home favourite Colin Montgomerie.

Monday Qualifiers
Satoshi Oide
Barry Conser
Jim Carvill (AM)
Stephen Bennett
Stewart Savage
Vicente Arpon
José Buendia
Emos Korblah
Darren M Pearce
Guy Wall

Stephen McNally
Willie Wood
Garry Lacy (AM)
Scott Parel
Kent Samuel (AM)
Guy Boros
Mike Lang
Bob Friend
Joseph Daley
Patrick Burke

Joel Edwards
Nick Job
Robert Arnott
Walt Chapman
Andrew George
Chuck Milne
Mark Nichols
Paul Affleck
Peter O’Hagan

Carlos Franco
Martin W Forster
Andrew Murray
Jorge Berendt
Nicholas Baron
Lindsay Mann
Bruce Davidson
Katsuyoshi Tomori
Bob Cameron



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google