Friday, June 17, 2016

 Greg 'Mr Consistent' McBain wins by

 three at Kirkhill with a 64


Newmachar's Greg McBain, pictured, shot a bogey-free, six-under-par 64 to win the £1,417 first prize by three strokes from a big field at the £7,650 Kirkhill Golf Club pro-am at the Cambuslang venue today.
It was McBain's second win of the season and he has only once been out of the top 10 in seven Tartan Tour competitions this year.
McBain birdied the fourth, par-5 fifth, short eighth and ninth to turn in four-under 31. He gained his fifth and sixth birdies at the 13th and short 16th to come home in two-under 33.
It was his biggest cash reward of the 2016 campaign.
Five players were co-runners-up on 67 and earned £711 each - Alan Welsh (Cathkin Braes) 34-33, Graham Fox (Clydeway Golf) 34-33, Stephen Gray (Lanark) 32-35, Chris Currie (Caldwell) 33-34 and Gavin Hay (Grantown on Spey) 34-33.
Currie also led amateurs Stuart Nelson (handicap 3), Craig Dumigan (18) and Glen Thomas (10) to victory in the pro-am team event with a net score of 13-under-par 57.

Pro scores
par 70
64 G McBain (Newmachar)
67 A Welsh (Cathkin Braes), G Fox (Clydeway Golf), S Gray (Lanark), C Currie (Caldwell), G Hay (Grantown on Spey).
68 G Brown (Montrose Links).
70 A Forsyth (Mearns Castle), P O'Hara (Clydeway Golf), M Hillson (Kilconquhar Castle), S Henderson (Kings Links), N Fenwick (Dunbar), I Colquhoun (Loch Lomond), J Lomas (Caprington), G Wright (West Linton).
71 G Paxton (Ralston), P Robinson (Largs), P McKechnie (Braid Hills), J McGhee (Whitehill House), C Kelly (unatt), A Fullen (Largs).
72 R Arnott (Bishopbriggs), G Hutcheon (PLGC Inchmarlo).
73 J McCreadie (Largs), G Robertson (Airdrie), C Gordon (Edinburgh GC), S Binning (Mearns Castle), K Monaghan (Linlithgow).
74 S Catlin (Affordable Golf)
75 J Gallacher (unatt)
76 C Ronald (Carluke), J Fraser (Renaissance), F Rummins (Canmore).
77 C Lawson (Gleneagles)
78 A McCandlish (Kingsbarns), S Williamson (Clydeway Golf), N Cameron (Blairgowrie), S Clelland (Hayston).
79 I Deacon (Loch Lomond)
80 D Williamson (Kirkhill), V Brown (Logos Golf Ministries), N Huguet (Musselburgh) 
81 M Mackenzie (Edzell)
82 C McMaster (Wellsgreen)
85 P Scanlan (Playsport Golf).






Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google