Saturday, November 07, 2015

McArthur, McLeary top 15 finishes earn them promotion to European Tourt

Ricardo Gouveia wins Grand Final to earn European Tour card but Henry misses out

Gouveia ends the season as the European Challenge Tour No 1
Gouveia ends the season as the European Challenge Tour No 1
Ricardo Gouveia carded five consecutive birdies along the back nine on his way to a two-shot win at the NBO Grand Final, securing a promotion to the European Tour for 2016.
The 25-year-old from Portugal had been expected to secure his card after heading in to the Challenge Tour's season-finale top of the standings, but posted a seven-under 65 to take tournament victory ahead of nearest challenger Joachim B Hansen.

Final leaderboard

-13 Ricardo Gouveia (Por)
-12 Joachim B. Hansen (Den)
-11 Jeff Winther (Den)
-11 Callum Shinkwin (Eng)
-11 Nacho Elvira (Esp)
-10 Brandon Stone (Rsa)
-9 Scott Henry (Sco)
-5 John Hahn (USA)
E Ryan Fox (Nzl)
+13 Sam Walker (Eng)
After reaching the turn in 34, the world No 115 moved top of the leaderboard with that birdie-run before sinking a five-foot par save at the last to set the clubhouse target at 13 under, enough to seal the order of merit title.
Hansen closed his five-under 67 with three consecutive gains but fell one stroke short, while fellow Dane Jeff Winther finished a further stroke back after being unable to follow on from an impressive start that saw him six under after 11 holes.
Winther was joined two strokes back by Callum Shinkwin and Nacho Elvira, who picked up three shots in as many holes at the close, while South Africa's Brandon Stone ended outright sixth on ten under.
All of the top-six finished in the top 15 of the season-long Race to Oman standings, securing their passage on to the European Tour, but Scott Henry and Max Orrin missed out despite top-10 finishes this week.
New Zealand's Ryan Fox narrowly missed out, finishing 16th in the money rankings by less than £1,800 despite posting a bogey-free 66 during the final round, while John Hahn, Haydn Porteous and Daniel Im also dropped out of the top-15.

Who made the top 15?

Ricardo Gouveia Por 1 180,217.73
Sebastien Gros Fra 2 127,965.19
Borja Virto Astudillo Esp 3 107,780.02
Nacho Elvira Esp 4 82,288.12
Joachim B. Hansen Den 5 81,039.99
Bjorn Akesson Swe 6 74,882.30
Gary Boyd Eng 7 68,973.47
Rhys Davies Wal 8 67,929.36
Thomas Linard Fra 9 65,369.15
Jens Fahrbring Swe 10 64,274.85
Jeff Winther Den 11 62,342.65
Andrew McArthur Sco 12 59,127.58
Callum Shinkwin Eng 13 58,079.73
Brandon Stone Rsa 14 58,006.11
Jamie McLeary Sco 15 57,557.98



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google