Friday, September 18, 2015

Northern Counties Cup down to last four at Peterhead

Tain, Nairn, Nairn Dunbar and Peterhead 

reach semi-finals

Tomorrow morning's semi-finalists in the Northern Counties Cup double foursomes club match-play tournament at Peterhead  are Tain, Nairn, Nairn Dunbar .. and the local heroes, Peterhead.
Cup winners last year, Fortrose and Rosemarkie did not make it past the second round
They were beaten by near neighbours Tain in the tighest of matches, both Tain pairs finishing one hole up.
Tain later beat Brora to reach the semi-finals

The Nairn team first pairing of GB and I boy international Sandy Scott and Fraser Fotheringham were too strong for Fraserburgh’s duo of John Mitchell and Andrew Hepburn and finished 7 up. Nairn's second pair of Robert Smith and Bruce Thomson won by four holes. They also went to win in the afternoon, beating Nigg Bay by 4 holes.
Peterhead made it into the semi-finals by beating Inverness and Forres.



Tain bt Fortrose and Rosemarkie by 2 holes
M Ferris, D Thorburn 1, M MacDonald, C Gattens 0; F Mackle, B Ferris 1, L Reid, D Cameron 0

Brora bt Moray 1 at 20th
R Sutherland, E Polson 4, M MacLeman, P McPherson 0; J Macbeth, A Gill 0, K Thomson, K Godsman 4

Nairn Dunbar bt Murcar Links by 2 holes
G Burnett, W Barron 0, R Sharp, A Bews 0; B Watson, F Brown 2, A Doig, C Stewart 0

Newmachar 1 bt Moray 2 at 20th

C Simpson, J Wilson  2, I Geddes, I Meggatt 0; G Ingram, J Calder 1, J Edwards 0, D MacKay 2

Nigg Bay bt Meldrum House by 4 holes
L O’Connor, G Grimmer 2, G Cooper, G Duncan 0; I Welsh, S Jamison 2, K Riley, C Brodie 0

Nairn bt Fraserburgh by 11 holes

S Scott, F Fotheringham 7, J Mitchell, A Hepburn 0; B Thomson, R Smith 4, W Thomson, G Munro 0

Forres bt Muir of Ord by 6 holes
J Wright, G Stuart 0, A Begg, S Johnson 1; B Fotheringham, R Mckerron 7, R Moir, J Forbes 0
Peterhead 1 bt Inverness by 2 holes

C Foreman, C Leslie 3, J Keith, D Grindell 0; C Crawford, D Buchan 0, D Sanderson, D Joel 1


Tain bt Brora at 19th
M Ferris, D Thorburn 0, R Sutherland, E Polson 1; F Mackle, B Ferris 1, J Macbeth, A Gill 0

Nairn Dunbar bt Newmachar by 3 holes
B Watson, F Brown 7, C Simpson, J Wilson 0; G Burnett, W Barron 0, G Ingram, J Calder 4

Nairn bt Nigg Bay by 4 holes
S Scott, F Fotheringham 3, L O’Connor, G Grimmer 0; B Thomson, R Smith 1, I Welsh, S Jamison 0
Peterhead 1 bt Forres by 2 holes

C Foreman, C Leslie 3, J Wright, G Stuart 0; C Crawford, D Buchan 1, B Fotheringham, R McKerron  0



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google