Thursday, August 20, 2015

United States Amateur Championship

                              Paul Dunne wins first match
Paul Dunne, Sam Horsfield through to last 32


OLYMPIA FIELDS, Illinois :  Top seed Brett Coletta, of Australia, was eliminated and three United States Walker Cup Team players advanced to the second round of match play Wednesday in the 2015 U.S. Amateur Championship on the North Course of Olympia Fields Country Club.
Coletta was defeated by Kyle Mueller, 19, of Watkinsville, Georgia by one hole, in the first round of match play.
The Walker Cup Team members from the USA who won matches were: Bryson DeChambeau, of Clovis, Calif.; Maverick McNealy, of Portola Valley, Calif.; and Hunter Stewart, of Nicholasville, Kentucky. Stewart’s 3-and-2 win came over Walker Cup teammate Lee McCoy, of Athens, Georgia.
The fifth Walker Cup Team member from the USA, Beau Hossler, was eliminated by Ryan Ruffels, of Australia, 5 and 4.
Other winners included Paul Dunne, of the Republic of Ireland, who shared the 54-hole lead last month in The Open Championship at St. Andrews with Jason Day, and University of Illinois teammates Thomas Detry and Alex Burge.
Eighteen-year-old Cameron Young, of Scarborough, N.Y., who lost in the quarterfinals in 2014 to eventual champion Gunn Yung, turned the tables in 2015 with a 3-and-2 win over Yang.
Also through to the last 32 is Englishman Sam Horsfield whose 6 and 5 victory was one of the biggest of the day.

 Results from Wednesday’s first round of match play over the t 7,234 yard, par 36-34-70 North Course FIRST ROUND 
(Upper Bracket)
Kyle Mueller, Watkinsville, Ga. (143) def. Brett Coletta, Australia (133), 1 up
Alex Burge, Bloomington, Ill. (141) def. Sam Stevens, Wichita, Kan. (141), 5 and 4
Thomas Detry, Belgium (140) def. Matt Oshrine, Baltimore, Md. (142), 2 up
Kenta Konishi, Japan (140) def. Cole Hammer, Houston, Texas (142), 4 and 3
Ryan Ruffels, Australia (138) def. Beau Hossler, Mission Viejo, Calif. (143), 5 and 4
Todd Mitchell, Bloomington, Ill. (142) def. Chase Koepka, West Palm Beach, Fla. (140), 1 up
Brad Nurski, St. Joseph, Mo. (143) def. Josh Munn, New Zealand (138), 8 and 7
Matthew Perrine, Austin, Texas (142) def. Taylor Hancock, Clearwater, Fla. (140), 1 up
Hunter Stewart, Lexington, Ky. (143) def. Lee McCoy, Athens, Ga. (136), 3 and 2
Will Zalatoris, Plano, Texas (141) def. Zachary Olsen, Cordova, Tenn. (142), 5 and 4
Sepp Straka, Valdosta, Ga. (138) def. Garrett Rank, Canada (142), 3 and 2
Derek Bard, New Hartford, N.Y. (142) def. Davis Riley, Hattiesburg, Miss. (140), 4 and 3
Jon Rahm, Spain (143) def. George Cunningham, Tucson, Ariz. (137), 21 holes
Cameron Young, Scarborough, N.Y. (141) def. Gunn Yang, Republic of Korea (142), 3 and 2
Sam Horsfield, England (142) def. Jake Staiano, Cherry Hills Village, Colo. (138), 6 and 5
Daniel Wetterich, Cincinnati, Ohio (142) def. Corey Pereira, Cameron Park, Calif. (140), 2 and 1

Lower Bracket
David Oraee, Greeley, Colo. (134) def. Johnny De Los Reyes, Antioch, Calif. (143), 2 up
David Cooke, Bolingbrook, Ill. (141) def. Hank Lebioda, Winter Springs, Fla. (141), 3 and 2
Caleb Proveaux, Lexington, S.C. (140) def. Roman Robledo, Harlingen, Texas (142), 5 and 4
Paul Dunne, Republic of Ireland (140) def. Robbie Ziegler, Madison, Wis. (142), 2 up
Maverick Antcliff, Augusta, Ga. (137) def. Adrian Meronk, Poland (143), 1 up
Maverick McNealy, Portola Valley, Calif. (142) def. Austin Connelly, Canada (140), 1 up
Matt NeSmith, North Augusta, S.C. (138) def. Billy Kennerly, Alpharetta, Ga. (143), 1 up
Bryson DeChambeau, Clovis, Calif. (140) def. Robby Salomon, Monterey, Calif. (142), 8 and 6
Jake Knapp, Costa Mesa, Calif. (135) def. Noah Goodwin, Corinth, Texas (143), 21 holes
Chelso Barrett, Surry, N.H. (141) def. Nathan Yankovich, Blacklick, Ohio (141), 5 and 4
Denny McCarthy, Rockville, Md. (142) def. Jacob Hicks, Mebane, N.C. (140), 4 and 3
Austin James, Canada (140) def. Miller Capps, Denver, N.C. (142), 4 and 3
Robby Shelton, Wilmer, Ala. (137) def. Aaron Whalen, Ephrata, Wash. (143), 5 and 3
Will Grimmer, Cincinnati, Ohio (141) def. Broc Johnson, Auburn, Wash. (142), 3 and 2
Adam Ball, Glen Allen, Va. (138) def. Reed Hrynewich, Muskegon, Mich. (142), 3 and 2
Sean Crocker, Westlake Village, Calif. (140) def. Romain Langasque, France (142), 4 and 2



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google