Sunday, August 30, 2015

North-east District Foursomes at Cruden Bay

 Duff House Royal pair win Simmers Trophy 

   after card countback

                        Sam Griffiths (left) and David Morrison with the Simmers Trophy
                                                   Picture by Cal Carson Golf Agency
Duff House Royal's David Morrison and Sam Griffiths won the North-east District foursomes for the Simmers Trophy at bright and breezy Cruden Bay Golf Club today.
They shot a level par 70 - as did Banchory's Adam Lindsay and Alistair Ramage - and won with the better inward half, 34 to 36.
 "We three-putted the last and thought that might prove costly but, in fact, it did not matter," said Morrison. " That was our only bogey over the last 12 holes during which we birdied the eighth and 13th.
"We holed a lot of putts between us."
Lindsay and Ramage covered the last four holes in one under with a birdie at the 15th and pars at the last three but it was their bogeys at the 10th, 13th and 14th that beat them in the end after being two shots ahead of Morrison and Griffiths at the turn.
In third place with a 74 were Portlethen's Clark Brechin and Gary Lochhead.

Cruden Bay Golf Club. FINAL TOTALS (Par 70)
70 Duff House Royal 1  (D Morrison, S Griffiths), Banchory 2 (A Lindsay, A Ramage) (Duff House Royal 1 won with better inward half).
74 Portlethen 1 (C Brechin, G Lochhead)

76 Bon Accord 1 (B Edmond, M Greig), Kintore (B Gilbert, R Lawrence), Portlethen 2 (S Lawrie, K Daglish)
77 Murcar Links 1 (R Brechin, C Stewart), Cruden Bay 2 (J Godward, L Cruickshanks), Fraserburgh 1 (F Milne, N Thomson), Fraserburgh 2 (B Wisely, J Mitchell)
78 Cruden Bay 1 (L Philips, M Christie)
79 Nigg Bay 1 (N Slater, R Forbes), Newmachar 1 ( M McKechnie, J Wilson)
80 Longside (E Grant, W Wallace) , Peterhead 1 (D Buchan, G Addison)
81 Inverallochy 2 (R Buchan, N Heron), Nigg Bay 2 (G Grimmer, L O'Connor), Duff House Royal 2 (J Sleigh, L West)
82 Murcar Links 2 (A Holbrook, G Stewart), Hazlehead (G Kennedy, S Robertson).
84 Peterhead 2 (C Crawford, S Anderson), Banchory 1 (L Smart, J Harling)
85 Royal Aberdeen (F McKenna, G Joss).
86 Bon Accord 2 (G Mitchell, G McLaggan)

NR: Inverallochy 1 (I Duthie, B Ritchie), 
DQ: Newmachar 2 (G Ingram, C Lamb)
No show: Deeside


Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google