Saturday, May 16, 2015

Top seeds Dunbartonshire through to 

Blairgowrie final against Ayrshire

Dunbartonshire, chasing their first title win since 1980, are through to Sunday's final of the GolfKings Scottish men's area team championship over Blairgowrie's Lansdowne course.
They will play Ayrshire, who toppled holders Renfrewshire in the semi-finals.
The No 1 qualifiers for the match-play stages, Dunbartonshire beat Lanarkshire 3-2 in the morning quarter-finals and followed that up with a 3.5-1.5 win over Fife who had won two of the last area championships.
Fife had beaten Glasgow in the quarter-finals. 
Ayrshire, after an impressive 4-1 win over home county Perth and Kinross, maintained their high level of performance by ending Renfrewshire's hopes of retaining the title with a 3.5 to 1.5 victory
Ayrshire took a grip on the proceedings by winning the first three ties through Tommy McInally and Keith Hamilton in the foursomes. and Jack McDonald and Stewart Robin in the singles.
Renfrewshire beat North-east 3-2 in the morning quarter-finals 

Dunbartonshire 3, Lanarkshire 2
Fife 3, Glasgow 2
Renfrewshire 3, North-east 2
Ronnie Clark (Erskine) and Craig Watson (East Renfrewshire) lost to Barrie Edmond (Bon Accord) and Darren Watson (Cruden Bay) 6 and 5.
Matthew Clark (Kilmacolm) bt Adam Dunton (McDonald Ellon) 2 and 1.
Michael Daily (Erskine) bt Clark Brechin (Portlethen) at 19th
Gordon Stevenson (Whitecraigs) bt David Morrison (Duff House Royal) 2 holes.
Andrew Farmr (Kilmacolm) lost to Scott Robertson (Hazlehead) 4 and 3.
Perth and Kinross 1, Ayrshire 4.

C MacLean (Balmore) and G Duncan (Windyhill) bt A Moir (Thornton) and A Hain (St Andrews 3 and 2.
E Ferguson (Bearsden bt C Syme (Drumoig)  4 and 3.
S Stewart (Clydebank Overoun) halved with D Mitchell (Leven Th)
A Carrick (Douglas Park) bt G Forrester (Lundin) 3 and 2.
J Wilson (Balmore) lost to A Davidson (Charleton) 5 and 4.

R Clark (Erskine) and G Stevenson (Whitecraigs) lost to T McInally (Loudoun Gowf) and K Hamilton (Ayr Belleisle) 4 and 2.
M Clark (Kilmacolm) lost to J McDonald (Kilmarnock Barassie) 4 and 3.
M Daily (Erskine) lost to S Robin (Prestwick St Cuthbert) 1 hole.
A Farmer (Kilmacolm) bt S Brown (Turnberry) 4 and 3.
C Watson (East Renfrewshire) halved with J Shanks (Irvine)

     North-east team at Blairgowrie.
 Back row- Barrie Edmond, Scott Robertson, David Morrison, Adam Dunton, front - Clark Brechin and  Darren Watson. Picture courtesy of George Young, NE District secretary



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google