Sunday, May 17, 2015

Dumbartonshire and Ayrshire bid to be Area Team Kings in Sunday's Blairgowrie final

Dumbartonshire will today (Sunday) bid to claim the GolfKings Scottish area team championship for the first time in 35 years when they meet Ayrshire in the final at Blairgowrie.
Inspired by Bearsden’s Ewen Ferguson, already twice a winner on the domestic circuit in 2015, and the foursomes pairing of George Duncan and Chris MacLean, Dumbartonshire will seek to land only a second title after last winning at Haggs Castle in 1980.
Douglas Park’s Angus Carrick also chipped in with two singles victories on Saturday, as Dumbartonshire defeated Lanarkshire, last year’s runners-up, in the quarter-finals 3 – 2, before defeating Fife 3.5 – 1.5 to book their final slot in Perthshire.

The Dumbartonshire team at Blairgowrie

Ferguson, joint-winner of the individual qualifying standings which Dumbartonshire topped overall, won both his singles matches to continue his form. In the afternoon semi-final, he notably notched an impressive 4 and 3 win over Fife’s Connor Syme, the current SGU Men’s Order of Merit leader.
Ayrshire, though, are sure to put up a stern test, having taken the scalp of home favourites Perth and Kinross in the last-eight, before ousting the holders Renfrewshire.
Kilmarnock Barassie’s Jack McDonald, the 2012 Scottish Amateur Golfer of the Year, has proved their talisman with the recent University of Stirling graduate winning both his singles games on Saturday.
Indeed, in the 4 – 1 win over Perth and Kinross, McDonald saw off Amateur champion and home member Bradley Neil by one hole, while team-mates Scott Brown and John Shanks notched equally key victories over former World amateur team champion member Gavin Dear and another home club player, Stuart Graham, respectively.
Ayrshire maintained their fine play against Renfrewshire after lunch, as Keith Hamilton and Tommy McInally sent them on their way in the foursomes, before McDonald and Stuart Robin claimed singles successes in the 3.5 – 1.5 triumph.
With Ayrshire having only won the trophy twice before, most recently at Tain in 2008, Sunday's final offers an intriguing contest.




Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google