Tuesday, September 17, 2013


David Law was the front runner at the end of the first day with a four-under-par round of 66 in the Paul Lawrie Invitational at Deeside Golf Club, Aberdeen.
The Aberdonian, who plays out of the Paul Lawrie Golf Centre, birdied three short holes - the fifth 12th and 16th - as well as the long 13th and par-4 17th. His lead could have even bigger than two shots because he bogeyed the par-4 last, which is not a difficult hole by his standards.
His nearest rivals going into Round 2 are Paul Shields (Kirkhill) and the new Scottish Young Professionals champion Paul O'Hara (Clydeway Golf) on the two-under 68 mark.
O'Hara was four under the card with two to play - and then bogeyed the 17th and 18th.
Shields had a bag of five birdies but three bogeys took a little bit of the shine off his performance, but it was still a good one by the Kirkhill man who is still feeling his way in the tour pro world.
Paul Lawrie lives only about three drivers downwind from the Bieldside course. He is an honorary member at the Deeside club and his sons Craig and Michael are members.
Paul is in joint fourth place on 69 alongside past winner of his tournament, Greg McBain (Gamola Golf), Stepjem Gray (Hayston)

and Graeme Brown (Montrose Links). Lawrie, over a course he could play blindfold, has 15 pars, two birdies and one bogey.
Craig Lawrie is just inside the top 10 on 70, sharing the leading amateur spot with Scottish boys champion Bradley Neil (Blairgowrie) and another professional's son, Connor Syme (Dumfries and County), winner of the Paul Lawrie Foundation Scottish schoolboys title for the past two years

Deeside Golf Club
Par 70
66 D Law (Paul Lawrie GC)
68 P Shields (Kirkhill), P O'Hara (Clydeway Golf)
69 P Lawrie (Carnegie Club), G McBain (Gamola Golf), S Gray (Hayston), G Brown (Montrose Links).
70 B Neil (Blairgowrie) (am), J Findlay (Paul lawrie GC), Mark King (Kingsfield), C Syme (Dumfries and Co) (am), C Lawrie (Deeside) (am), D Wood (Hirsel), S Taylor (Bothwell Castle).
71 S McGrenaghan (Cochrane Castle), C Robinson (Portpatrick Dunskey), J McCreadie (Buchanan Castle), James Byrne (Banchory), C Ronald (Carluke), J Lomas (Caprington), L Wardell (Whitekirk), C Gordon (Edinburgh GC), C Kelly (Cawder) C Mathieson (Falkirk Tryst), R Arnott (Bishopbriggs), C Currie (Caldwell), S Gibson (Southerness) (am).
72 M Isaacs (Paul Lawrie GC), M Kerr (Marriott Dalmahoy), M Patterson (Kilmacolm), G Paxton (Ralson), C Elliott (Haggs Castle), G Smith (Gleneagles).
73 A Reid (West Lothian), G Forbes (unatt), D Thomson (Carnegie Club), A Coltart (unatt), P McLean (Paul Lawrie GC), M Loftus (Mearns Castle), P Walker (Ballumbie Castle), T Mathieson (Murcar Links).
74 P Robinson (Largs), G Hardy (Belleisle).
75 A Crerar (Panmure), G Forrester (St Andrews G A), I Colquhoun (Loch Lomond), Paul McGhee (Paul Lawrie GC).
76 D Kenny (unatt), E Ferguson (St Andrews) (am), R MacLeod (Clydeway Golf), S Morrison (Tain), K McNicoll (Gullane).
77 R McConnachie (Clydeway Golf), C Campbell (Trump International). G Robertson (Glenbervie) (am), D Flannery (Caldwell), T Dingwall (Nairn Dunbar), J Gallagher (Douglas Park), S Lamb (Macdonald Cardrons)
78 S Lawrie (Portlethen) (am), C Lawson (Wellsgreen)
79 W Fyfe (Paul Lawrie GC)
80 D Broadfoot (Dumfries and Co)
81 G Nethercott (Deeside).




Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google