Saturday, July 14, 2012



Lundin's James White, the long-time clubhouse leader in the Sutherland Chalice with a five-under-par 65, was caught before the end of the first round at Dumfries and Galloway Golf Club by Jordyn Rhind (Uphall), a younger brother of Lee
 Rhind, who made his mark on Scottish golf earlier in the 2000s.
White had a bogey-free round, studded with birdiesd at the first, short fourth, sixth, 16th and 18th in halves of 33 (three under par) and 32 (two under).
Rhind had a spectacular start of birdies at each of the first four holes - 3-4-3-2.
He was brought back down to earth with a bogey at the eighth as he turned in three-under 33. But Jordyn was not finished yet. He moved to four under par again with a 3 at the 12th before slipping to his second and last bogey at the 15th.
Then he birdied the 16th and 17th for 32 home and a 65.
White won the Sutherland Chalice SGU Order of Merit 72-hole tournament two years ago and led the field into the final round 12 months ago before slipping back.
Sam Binning (Ranfurly Castle), with a 66, was holding down third place as the field moved into the second round with the threat of evening rain imminent.

Par 70. CSS 71
65 James White (Lundin), Jordyn Rhind (Uphall).
66 Sam Binning (Ranfurly Castle).
67 Scott Crichton (Aberdour), Alexander Culverewell (Dunbar), Graham J Gordon (Newmachar), Ross Bell (Downfield).
69 Matthew Clark (Kilmacolm), Paul Shields (Kirkhill), Craig Hamilton (Omanu), Liam Johnston (Dumfries and Co), Colin Thomson (East Renfrewshire).
70 Sam Davis (NZ), Colin Baird (Bothwell Castle), Adam Dunton (McDonald Ellon), Craig Deerness (Harburn), Ryan Campbell (Falkirk), graeme McDougall (Bishopbriggs), Daniel Kay (Dunbar), James Ross (Royal Burgess).
71 Michael Daily (Erskine), Fraser Moore (Glenbervie), Scott Borrowman (Dollar), Keith Shanks (Golf House Club), Euan Walker (Kilmarnock Barassie), Fraser McKenna (Balmore).
72 Malcolm Pennycott (Whiting Bay), David Brodie (Newton Stewat), Jamie McIntosh (Broomieknowe), Connor Harkness (Dumfries and Galloway), Conor O'Neil (Pollok), Conor Syme (Dumfries and Co), Kyle McClung (Wigtownshire Co), Allyn Dick (Kingsknowe), Michael Bacigalupo (Longniddry), Neil Henderson (Glen).
73 Rory Thompson (Dumfries and Galloway), Steven Rennie (Drumpellier), Kenny MacAskill (Turnberry), James Hamon (Royal Guernsey), Chris Corbett (Dumfries and Galloway), Richard Docherty (Bearsden), John Mathers (Haggs Castle).
74 Iain Wilson (Dalmahoy), Scott Gibson (Southerness), Nick Macandrew (Royal Aberdeen), Scott Brown (Turnberry), David Curtis (Cathkin Braes), Marc Owenson (Longniddry), Steven Maxwell (Windyhill), Jack Brown (Cathcart Castle), Daniel McConnachie (Dumfries and Co).
75 Scott Larkin (Royal Aberdeen), Brandon Burgess (Dumfries and Galloway), Stuart McKechnie (Greenburn), Simon Lockhart (Bathgate), Andrew Wallace (Glenbervie), Oliver Roberts (Hong Kong), Alan Sutherland (Ladybank).
76 Clark Riddick (Southerness), Graham Robertson (Silverknowes), Daniel Thompsett (Aboyne).
77 Ewen Donaldson (Craigielaw), James Aitken (Alloa), Kevin Duncan (McDonald Ellon), Anthony Blaney (Liverton), Stuart Robin (Prestwick St Nicholas), James Hendrick (Pollok).
78 Angus Carrick (Douglas Park), Varun Varadharajan (Royal Burgess), Craig Hill (Pines).
79 Ross Murray (Southerness), Andrew Grant (Dunblane New), David Docherty (Paisley), Cameron Farrell (Cardross).
81 Nathan Free (Musselburgh Old).
82 Ross McEwen (Cardross).



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google