Saturday, June 23, 2012


MURCAR Links Golf Club today won the North-east District SGU club team championship for the Journal Cup at Oldmeldrum Golf Club.
The normal 36-hole stroke-play format was cut to 18 holes because of the wetness of the course, in common with all North-east golf courses this weekend!
Clark Brechin (71), Anthony Bews (75) and former international Bryan Innes (75) were the trophy winners for Murcar Links with a three-man gross total of 221 over the par-70 course (CSS 73)
Murcar Links won by a single shot from Nigg Bay's Gary Stewart (73), Ian Welsh (74) and Nicky Slater (75) on 222.
Bon Accord finished third on 224 with Deeside fourth on 225.
Clark Brechin (Murcar Links) and Russell Ord (Oldmeldrum) headed the scoresheet with 71 apiece.
They, alongwith Barrie Edmond (Bon Accord) and Sam Strachan (Inverallochy), home for the summer holidays from US college, who both shot 72, qualify for Sunday's NE District match-play championship for the Jaffrey Cup.
There were four players on the 72 mark but Edmond and Strachan came out on top via a card countback against Chris Gilbert (McDonald Ellon) and Sean Lawrie (Portlethen), like Strachan a US college student and nephew of Paul Lawrie.
In the Jaffrey Cup semi-finals tomorrow morning, Brechin will play Strachan (8.45) and Ord will play Edmond (9am)
The final will tee off at 1.15pm.

221 Murcar Links
222 Nigg Bay
224 Bon Accord
225 Deeside
226 Cruden Bay, Banchory
227 Oldmedlrum
229 Duff House Royal
232 McDonald Ellon, Portlethen
233 Inverallochy, Inchmarlo, Meldrum House.
241 Hazlehead, Royal Aberdeen.
243 Longside
244 Fraserburgh, Peterhead
245 Turriff
249 Northern, Kintore

Par 70. CSS 73
71 Clark Brechin (Murcar Links), Russell Ord (Oldmeldrum)
72 Barrie Edmond (Bon Accord), Sam Strachan (Inverallochy), Chris Gilbert (McDonald Ellon), Sean Lawrie (Portlethen)
73 David Morrison (Duff House Royal, Scott Murray (Inchmarlo), Lee Morrice (Banchory), Michael Buchan (Cruden Bay), Ron Evett (Deeside), Gary Stewart (Nigg Bay).
74 Ian Welsh (Nigg Bay), Laurie Phillips (Cruden Bay)
75 Nicky Slater (Nigg Bay), Scott Anderson (Peterhead), Callum McKay (Longside, Bryan Innes (Murcar Links), Gary Cooper (Murcar Links), Matthew Greig (Bon Accord), Anthony Bews (Murcar Links), Alfie Smith (Turriff), Mark Vass (Deeside).



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google