Monday, June 18, 2012


The Inverness Golf Club pairing of professional Mel Douglas and amateur member Gary Tyronney, who has 11 of a handicap, won themselves a trip to Mexico in December today.
They headed a field of 36 similar partnerships from all over Scotland in the  Virgin Atlantic PGA National Pro-Am regional qualifier at Crieff Golf Club with an outstanding net score of 11-under-par 60.
Douglas and Tyronney dovetailed brilliantly to record two net eagles and eighth net birdies ... after starting off on a low note with their only bogey at the first hole.
Douglas earned the first pro prize of £500 but he will be hoping Gary can help him win a lot more in the £30,000 Grand Final at Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort and Cancun, Mexico from December 4 to 8.
The winners of 16 regional finals will make up the field. There is one more Scottish qualifier - at Haggs Castle on July 26.
Runners-up on 62 were Marriott Dalmahoy Hotel's pro Alan Tait and 15-handicapper John McHardy. They had seven net birdies and finished with a flourish, nothing an eagle 2 at the last hole, but it still wasn't enough to overhaul the winners. Tait's consolation prize amounted to £350.
Third on 64 were the Panmure pairing of pro Andrew Crerar and Gordon Little who plays off 15). Andrew earned £250.

Par 71
pro named first in each pairing
60 Mel Douglas and Gary Tyronney (Inverness).
62 Alan Tait and John McHardy (Marriott Dalmahoy)
64 Andrew Crerar (Panmure) and Gordon Liddle (15).
65  Kenneth Kelly and Sandy Robert (Baberton).
66 Craig Donnelly and Moir Gibson (Balbirnie Park), Kenny Hutton and Jim Irons (Downfield), Stuart Syme and Mark Little (Dumfries & Co)
67 Paul Wytrazek and Ian Browse (Burntisland), Greg McFarlane and John Morrison (Grangemouth Municipal), Margin Piggot and Iain McPhail (Loch Ness), Greg Cowbrough and Brian Godsman (Muckhart).
68 Michael Rae and Stuart Martin (Alyth), Paul Fiddes and Adam Ramsey (Matfen Hall), Martyn Huish and Alistair Simpson (North Berwick).
69 Christopher Nugent and Ken Forbes (Dunfermline), Steven Dunsmore and Jim Matheson (Falkirk Tryst), Craig Mackie and Steve Fenton (Scotscraig), George Bruce and Ross McDonald (Westhill).
70 Andrew Meikle and Simon Watts (Archerfield Links), Ian Taylor and Alan Hendrie (Drumpellier), Alastair Webster and David Burnett (Edzell), Sandy Smithy and Damon Lee (Ladybank), Gary Forbes and Gerry McGuinness (Murcar Links).
71 David Naylor and Richard Usher (Banchory), Mark Piriie and Andrew Wyllie (Pitlochry), Andrew Erskine and Brian Wiley (Ratho Park), Ian Collins and Barry Bell (Stirling).
72 Steven Moir and Graham Black (Aboyne), Keith Baxtger and Jim Allan (Buchanan Castle)), Kevin Phillips and Brian Smith (Winterfield).
73 Allan Knox and Douglas Blues (King James VI)
75 Martin Goldie and Steven Welch (Kames CC).
77 Robert Irvine and Gary Morris (Douglas Park), Jacky Montgomery and Alasdair Gill (Dunbar).
78 Jason Boyd and Jeff Strachan (Montrose Links)
79 Alan Logan and David Nelson (Cochrane Castle).

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google