Wednesday, April 11, 2012


By ED HODGE, SGU PR and Media Executive
On the busiest day for the Paul Lawrie Foundation Scottish boys' championship, when the second round and third round ties are all completed, this morning’s games at Murcar Links went largely as expected.
Defending champion David Wilson, victor at Dunbar last year after his astonishing comeback, booked a third-round meeting with David Cleland (Hamilton) this afternoon.
Troon Welbeck’s Wilson, who was taken to the 19th by Alisdair McDougall in the opening round on Monday, eased to a 4 and 3 success over Gregor Cannon (Wigtown and Bladnoch).
There were are also convincing wins for the likes of Alexander Wilson of The Renaissance who took care of Lothian rival Daniel Eardley of Liberton 7 and 5, while Lenzie’s Craig Chalmers was an emphatic winner 7 and 6 against Peter Maxwell from Glenbervie.
Elsewhere, Euan Walker (Kilmarnock (Barassie)) and Bradley Neil of Blairgowrie set up an attractive third-round clash after easy wins for the SGU National Boys’ Squad pair.
Neil achieved a second 6 and 4 triumph, this time over Sam Fitzsimmons from Windyhill, while Walker won 5 and 4 against Greg Forrester of Lundin.
Walker and Neil will meet in the tie of the competition so far just after 3pm.
Another Boys’ Squad member, Ewan Scott (St Andrews), also continued his strong recent form with a straightforward 5 and 4 victory over Fergus Sandison (Blairgowrie) to progress to round three.
The curse of beating a Paul Lawrie offspring struck again with Aaron McManus (Tantallon), conqueror of 13-year-old Michael Lawrie (Deeside) yesterday, making his exit today, beaten 3 and 2 by Scotland Under-16 cap Innes Ferguson.
On Tuesday, Scott Finlay (Liberton) who had KO'd Craig Lawrie (Deeside) on the opening day, went down by 3 and 1 to Craig Howie (Peebles).
Ben Craggs, son of SLGA national coach Kevin Craggs, advanced to the third round with a last-green win over Jay Hainie (Bothwell Castle). Craggs, a junior member at Glenbervie GC, won by one hole.

Morning temperature: 8/9 degrees
Afternoon temperature: Rising above 10 degrees

SECOND ROUND (continued)

Calum Satterley (Longniddry) bt Craig Stephen (Aboyne) 5 and 3.
Alexander Wilson (Renaissance) bt Daniel Eardley (Liberton) 7 and 5.
Lawrence Allan (Alva) bt Oliver Duffy (Craigielaw) 5 and 4.
Craig Chalmers (Lenzie) bt Peter Maxwell (Glenbervie) 7 and 6.
Connar Cook (Caird Park) bt Drew McIntosh (Ratho Park) 3 and 2.
Willem Kerr (Craigielaw) bt Gary Brownlee (Tantallon) 2 and 1.
Martin McCorkell (Gleddoch) bt Gavin Petrie (Forfar) 5 and 3.
Alasdair Ross (Fort William) bt Euan Davidson (Charleton) 5 and 3.

David Cleland (Hamilton) bt Callum Gorrie (Kilmarnock Barassie) 6 and 5.
David Wilson (Troon Welbeck) bt Gregor Cannon (Wigtown and Bladnoch) 4 and 3.
Ryan Walsh (Kirkcaldy) bt Ray Gordon (Alford) 6 and 5.
Ewen Ferguson (Bearsden) bt Alistair MacVicar (Glencruitten) 4 and 2.
Bradley Neil (Blairgowrie) bt Sam Fitzsimmons (Windyhill) 6 and 4.
Euan Walker (Kilmarnock Barassie) bt Greg Forrester (Lundin) 5 and 4.
Adam Loch (Pumpherson) bt Scott Clarke (Haggs Castle) 6 and 4.
Niall McMullen (Lochgelly) bt Mark McNulty (Glenbervie) 4 and 3.

Cameron Black (Cardross) bt Zack Bedford (St Andrews New) 1 hole.
Craig Anderson (Sandyhills) bt Ross Proctor (Forres) 2 holes.
Callum Cochrane (Dalmahoy) bt Robert Hughan (Newton Stewart) 7 and 6.
Jamie Pryde (Deeside) bt David McCreadie (Newton Stewart) 1 hole.
Paul Reilly (Lochwinnoch) bt Andrew Kenyon (Inverness) 5 and 4.
Ross Millar (Whitekirk) bt Adam Fisher (Inchmarlo) 2 holes.
Greg Morrison (Northern) bt Christopher Kelso (Bellshill) 4 and 3.
Ben Craggs (Glenbervie) bt Jay Hainie (Bothwell Castle) 1 hole.

Blair Gavin (Kilmarnock Barassie) bt Canmeron Buist (Dunblane New) 5 and 3.
Michael Boddie (Dunbar) bt Christopher MacLean (Clydebank and Dist) 5 and 3.
Ewan Scott (St Andrews) bt Fergus Sandison (Blairgowrie) 5 and 4.
Andrew Loch (Pumpherston) bt Ross Brydon (Bruntsfield) 4 and 3.
Innes Ferguson (Drumpellier) bt Aaron McManus (Tantallon) 3 and 2.
Alan Waugh (Cowglen) bt Blair Dalgelish (Ralston) 6 and 4.
Josh Halliday (Inchmarlo) bt Sean Dunstaffnage (Glencruitten) 2 and 1.
James Caldwell (Portpatrick) bt Lewis Mutch (Duff House Rpoyal) 1 hole.

George Burns (Williamwood) bt Scott Simpson (Murrayfield) 4 and 3.
Lewys Anderson (Deeside) bt Fraser Johnson (Longniddry) 4 and 3.
Kerr Baptie (Duff House Royal) bt Grant Paul (Lanark) 2 and 1.
Lewis Bain (Musselburgh) bt Gordon Cowen (Dunblane New) 7 and 6.
Robert Johnston (Helennsburgh) bt Connor Bennewith (Newton Stewart) 1 hole.
Jack Moir (Cruden Bay) bt Murray Patgerson (Bruntsfield Links) 4 and 2.
Martin McKenna (Cathcart Castle) bt Paul Delaney (Balmore) 2 and 1.
Fraser Christie (Craigmillar Park) bt Stuart Blair (Royal Musselburgh) 1 hole.

Jordan Shaw (Kingussie) bt Cameron Kirkwood (Bearsden) 5 and 4.
Anthony Blaney (Liberton) bt Jordan Bryce (Strathaven) 3 and 2.
Fraser Lauder (Paisley) bt Jamie Whittet (Muir of Ord) 3 and 1.
Lewis Bain (Turnhouse) bt Craig Telfer (Prestwick St Nicholas) 3 and 2.


Jack Thomas (Irvine Bogside) bt Stewart Russell (Kilmarnock Barassie) 5 and 4.
Craig Howie (Peebles) bt Gavin Roger (Clober) 2 and 1.
Dominic Dougan (Colville Park) bt Greg Cathie (Irvine Bogside) 6 and 5.
Bob MacIntyre (Glencruitten) bt Connor Syme (Dumfries and County) 6 and 4.
Colin Edgar (Cochrane Castle) bt Ross White (Muckhart) 6 and 5.
Andrew Burgess (Nairn) bt Scott Whannel (Newton Stewart) 3 and 2.
Jake Scott (Buckpool) bt Craig Boyd (Lanark) 2 and 1.
Ben Kinsley (St Andrews) bt Craig Oram (Nairn Dunbar) 2 and 1.

Savege bt Flannery at 20th
Carrell bt Steven 6 and 5.
Alexander Wilson bt Satterley 5 and 4.
Allan bt Chalmers 4 and 2.
Cook bt Kerr 4 and 3.
McCorkell bt Ross 4 and 2.
David Wilson bt Clelland 5 and 4.
Walsh bt Ewen Ferguson 3 and 2.

Neil bt Walker 4 and 3.
Adam Loch bt McMullen 1 hole.
Anderson bt Black 4 and 2.
Cochrane bt Pryde 3 and 2.
Reilly bt Millar 8 and 7.
Craggs bt Morrison 3 and 2.
Gavin bt Boddie at 20t6h
Ewan Scott bt Andrew Loch 1 hole.

Waugh bt Innes Ferguson 4 and 3.
Halliday bt Caldwell 1 hole.
Burns bt Anderson 3 and 1.
Baptie bt Lewis Bain (Musselburgh) 1 hole.
Johnson bt Moir 2 holes.
Christie bt McKenna 5 and 3.
Shaw bt Blaney 1 hole.
Lewis Bain (Turnhouse) bt Lauder 4 and 3.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google