Monday, February 20, 2012


World No 1 Luke Donald has been drawn to meet three-time major winner Ernie Els in the WGC Match Play Championship this week in Arizona.
Paul Lawrie will meet US-based Englishman Justin Rose. Lawrie and Martin Laird, the only two Scots in the field, are in the same quarter of the draw.
Donald, the defending champion, will be hoping to reproduce his incredible 2011 form when he won all six of his matches before the 18th hole.
Tiger Woods will play Spain's Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano in Wednesday's opening round at Dove Mountain.
Rory McIlroy begins his campaign against South African George Coetzee.
Lee Westwood faces Belgian Nicolas Colsaerts at the Arizona course, while Sergio Garcia takes on fellow Spaniard Miguel Angel Jimenez.
Last five Match Play winners
2011 - Luke Donald
2010 - Ian Poulter
2009 - Geoff Ogilvy
2008 - Tiger Woods
2007 - Henrik Stenson
Bill Haas, winner of Sunday's Northern Trust Open, tees off against Japan's Ryo Ishikawa while Dustin Johnson meets his US Ryder Cup team-mate Jim Furyk.
Donald, whose success came a year after his fellow Briton Ian Poulter won the tournament, needs to forget his disappointing showing in the Northern Trust Open last week.
The Buckinghamshire-based golfer slumped to a 56th place finish, carding 78 in his final round.
"I certainly have good feelings going back to Dove Mountain," he said.
"I have a pretty good matchplay record but you just never know with that format.
"I just try to be pretty good at not giving too many shots away, too many holes away, keeping the pressure on my opponents and taking it one match at a time.
"I have always had that inner belief that I could certainly play as well as I did last year and it's nice to see the hard work paying off but I feel like there is a lot more for me to achieve.
"There is a slight added burden of expectation but I feel I've dealt with that pretty well so far."
The first-round matches will be played from 22-23 February.

Luke Donald (Eng) v Ernie Els (SA)
Jason Dufner (US) v Peter Hanson (Swe)
KJ Choi (Kor) v Kyle Stanley (US)
Brandt Snedeker (US) v Retief Goosen (SA)
Adam Scott (Aus) v Robert Rock (Eng)
Bo Van Pelt (US) v Mark Wilson (US)
Dustin Johnson (US) v Jim Furyk (US)
Thomas Bjorn (Den) v Francesco Molinari (Ita)

Rory McIlroy (NI) v George Coetzee (SA)
Kim Kyung-tae (Kor) v Anders Hansen (Den)
Sergio Garcia (Spa) v Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spa)
Keegan Bradley (US) v Geoff Ogilvy (Aus)
Jason Day (Aus) v Rafael Cabrera-Bello (Spa)
Simon Dyson (Eng) v John Senden (Aus)
Charl Schwartzel (SA) v Gary Woodland (US)
Ian Poulter (Eng) v Bae Sang-moon (Kor)

Martin Kaymer (Ger) v Greg Chalmers (Aus)
David Toms (US) v Rickie Fowler (US)
Matt Kuchar (US) v Jonathan Byrd (US)
Bubba Watson (US) v Ben Crane (US)
Steve Stricker (US) v Kevin Na (US)
Louis Oosthuizen (SA) v Aaron Baddeley (Aus)
Graeme McDowell (NI) v Yang Yong-eun (Kor)
Hunter Mahan (US) v Zach Johnson (US)

Lee Westwood (Eng) v Nicolas Colsaerts (Bel)
Robert Karlsson (Swe) v Fredrik Jacobson (Swe)
Nick Watney (US) v Darren Clarke (NI)
Tiger Woods (US) v Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (Spa)
Webb Simpson (US) v Matteo Manassero (Ita)
Alvaro Quiros (Spa) v Martin Laird (Sco)
Bill Haas (US) v Ryo Ishikawa (Jap)
Justin Rose (Eng) v Paul Lawrie (Sco)



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google