Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Duddingston's Tom Buchanan won the £100 prize for heading the 14 players who go through from the second 18-hole qualifying competition at Crieff Golf Club to the Scottish PGA Championship over the Kings Course, Gleneagles from October 10 to 13.
Buchanan shot a two-under-par 69 with birdies at the second, third, long sixth and 14th. He bogeyed the long fifth and short 13th in finishing two shots clear of second-placed Steven Dunsmore (Falkirk Tryst).
Dunsmore birdied the short first, long sixth and par-4 10th. He bogeyed the seventh, long ninth and par-4 16th.
As was the case in the first eliminator at the same venue on Monday, 74 was the cut-off point for the 14 qualifiers.
On that mark there was a play-off between five players for the last three places. They went to Iain Stoddart (Uphall), Gordon Stewart (Cawder) and Christopher McMaster (Panmure).
The play-off losers, Grant Smith (Gleneagles) and Jonathan Cliff (Mortonhall), are the first and second alternates respectively for the main event.
Qualifiers, apart from Buchanan, Dunsmore and the play-off winners, were Andrew Jowett (Gleneagles), Alastair Mackenzie (Renaissance Club, Scott Garrett (Irvine), Christopher Russell (Dunbar) and Paul Brookes (Pitreavie - all on 72 - and Ross Dixon (Renaissance Club), Paul Wardell (Whitekirk), Ian Brown (Newent) and Graham Forbes (Gourock), all on 73.
Biggest name among the non-qualifiers was Deeside's Peter Smith, a former Northern Open champion and winner of a PGA seniors' event earlier this season.

SCOTTISH PGA CHAMPIONSHIP - 2nd qualifying competition
Crieff Golf Club
Par 71
69 Tom Buchanan (Duddingston).
71 Steven Dunsmore (Falkirk Tryst).
72 Andrew Jowett (Gleneagles), Alastair Mackenzie (Renaissance Club), Scott Garrett (Irvine, Christopher Russell (Dunbar), Paul Brookes (Pitreavie).
73 Ross Dixon (Renaissance Club), Paul Wardell (Whitekirk), Ian Brown (Newent), Graham Forbes (Gourock).
74 (after play-off) Iain Stoddart (Uphall), Gordon Stewart (Cawder), Christopher McMaster (Panmure).
74 (after play-off) Grant Smith (Gleneagles) (1st alternate), Jonathan Cliff (Mortonhall) (2nd alternate).
75 Lindsay Mann (Carnoustie Golf Links) (3rd alternate), Neil Colquhoun (Merchants of Edinburgh) (4th alternate), Derek Watters (Gourock) (5th alternate), Ewan Grimes (Carrick on Loch Lomond) (6th alternate).
76 Mattew Burtt (Helensburgh), Paul Gallacher (Dalmuyir), Andrew Rollo (Moray), Michael Sweenie (Turnberry), Alan Stuart (Aspire), Andrew Burns (Shotts), Stuart Reekie (Blairgowrie), Sean Thomson (Renaissance Club).
Selected score:
78 Peter Smith (Deeside).



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google