Wednesday, May 18, 2011


Moray Golf Club, holders of the B D Fraser Cup in the tenth Senior Northern Counties Cup competition being played at Elgin Golf Club this week, after receiving a first round bye, sailed into Thursday morning's quarter finals with an emphatic nine hole win over the Duff House Royal second team.
The holders now meet Deeside who won by seven against Nairn Dunbar's second team and there was a further shock for the Dunbar club, winners two years ago at Inverness, when their first team showing just one change from their Inverness win, went out to Strathpeffer Spa by three holes.
D├ębutants for Strathpeffer, James Garrow and Greenkeeper Michael Wilson beat Hugh Clunas and Willie Barron by one hole and the Strath's second string of Philip Bannerman and Derek Gruber beat David Bunker and Ian Duncan by two.
In another upset in the lower half of the draw Duff House Royal lost their first team who were ousted by seven holes from Fortrose & Rosemarkie. The North lost another fancied club when Inverness who beat Cruden Bay in the 2004 final at Cruden Bay found themselves on the receiving end of a one hole revenge win for Cruden Bay. Cruden Bay progress to meet The Nairn who had a one hole win over previous twice winners, Brora. Ian Cooper and Peter Saggers were Nairn's one hole winners against Brora's Ronnie Sim and Ian Hamilton in the first game.
Royal Dornoch who are record winners of the main Counties Cup competition but never the senior version are showing some form with two wins on the opening day, Murcar by two and Fortrose & Rosemarkie (2) by sixteen holes.
FIRST ROUNDDuff House Royal 2 bt Elgin 2 by five holes.
Deeside bt Tain by six holes.
Nairn Dunbar 2 bt Forres by two holes.
Royal Dornoch beat Murcar by two holes.
Moray bt Duff House Royal 2 by nine holes.
Deeside bt Nairn Dunbar 2 by seven holes.
Royal Dornoch bt Fortrose and Rosemarkie 2 by 16 holes.
Elgin 1 bt Turriff by two holes.
Strathpeffer Spa bt Nairn Dunbar 1 by three holes.
Fortrose and Rosemarkie 1 bt Duff House Royal 1 by seven holes.
Cruden Bay bt Inverness by one hole.
Nairn bt Brora by one hole.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google