Friday, May 27, 2011


Cawder’s Chris Kelly, one of the later starters, swept past longtime clubhouse leaders Mark Davis (Thorndon Park) and Gary McFarlane (Clober) to win the Teddy Bear charity pro-am  with a four-under-par round of 67 over the King’s Course at Gleneagles Hotel today.
No prize money was at stake. All the pros received the same flat appearance fee.
Kelly knew he had Davis and McFarlane’s 67s to beat and he did it with a seven-birdie round including halves of 33 (two under par) and 34 (two under). Level with the clubhouse leaders on the 14th tee, Kelly covered the last five holes in two under par with go-ahead birdies at the 14th and 18th.
McFarlane had an eagle 3 at the 18th  in halves of 36 and 33 while Essex man Davis had only one bogey, at the fourth in halves of 35 and 34.
Welshman Gareth Wright (West Linton) came in late with a 69 (35-34) to make it a triple tie for third place.
Former England footballer Alan Shearer played in the pro-am and his team, with Philip Harrison as pro, was one of three tied at the top of the leaderboard with 14-under-par totals of 128.
On the countback, the No 1 place went to pro Mark Davis (Thorndon Park) and the Akzo Nobel No 2 team of Guy Williams (handicap 18), Alistair McAulay (18) and Phllip Jones (8).
Also on 128 were the Corum Properties team whose pro was Alastair Forrow (Whitecraigs)
Par 71
67 Chris Kelly (Cawder).
69 Mark Davis (Thorndon Park), Gary McFarlane (Clober), Gareth Wright (West Linton).
70 Mark King (Kingsfield), Graham Fox (East Kilbride).
71 Russell Smith (Gleneagles Hotel), David Orr (East Renfrewshire), Ross Dixon (Renaissance Club), Nigel Scott-Smith (Palacerigg), Mark Kerr (Murrayfield), Lindsay Mann (Carnoustie).
72 Steven Dunsmore (Falkirk Tryst), Alan Tait (Marriott Hotel, Dalmahoy).
73 Steven Taylor (Bothwell Castle), Campbell Elliot (Haggs Castle), Stephen Gray (Hayston), Jonathan Lomas (unatt), Donald McKay (Wellsgreen), William Colquhoun (Dundonald Links).
74 Alastair Forrow (Whitecraigs), Steven Richard (Lee on the Solent), John Greaves (Glasgow), Spencer Edwards (Carrick on Loch Lomond).
75 Stuart Bayne (Archerfield Links), Philip Walton (Ireland), Thomas Eckford (Ranfurly Castle), David Armitage (Renaissance Club).
76 Philip Harrison (Wildwood).
77 Gordon Stewart (Cawder.
78 Lee Harper (Archerfield Links), Guy Redford (Dundonald Links), Simon McLean (Airdrie).
82 Andrew Meikle (Archerfield Lilnks)…
87 Iain Darroch (West Kilbride).



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google