Saturday, September 18, 2010

Wallace Booth leads Dundonald Qualifiers to Stage 2
Wallace Booth, the former Walker Cup player from Comrie, Perthshire won the European Tour First Qualifying Stage – Section C at Dundonald Links by one shot with a one under par total for the four rounds.
Booth, pictured left, had scores of 74, 70, 74 and 69 for 297, which earned him Euros 1,828 but, far important, a place in the next Stage of the long road to the Final Q School.
Northern Ireland’s Damian Mooney (77-676-75-72) was second on 290, and in total 17 players qualified for the Second Stage. Strong winds disrupted timings earlier in the week at Dundonald Links but play was completed late on Friday after the fourth round began at 2.10pm.

Other Scots who qualified for Stage 2 from the Ayrshire venue were Jack Doherty in joint fourth place on 296, PGA Cup player Craig Matheson on 300, Graham Fox and Mark Kerr, joint 13th on 302, and Shaun McAllister whose last round of 72 was his best and it enabled him to finish joint 18th on 303;
Stephen Gray and Jason McCreadie made it through on 304 in joint 22nd place. In all the top 25 qualified for Stage 2. 
Scots who missed out included Scott Henderson 305, Scott Henry 306, Mark Hillson (amateur) 309, Barry Hume 309, Chris Kelly 309, Duncan Stewart 310, Graeme Brown 311, Jordan Findlay (amateur) 311, Lee Harper 312, Paul O'Hara 312 and Steven Rennie (amateur) 313.
Over in Fleesensee, play will have to be completed on Saturday as bad weather earlier in the week caused severe delays.
Canada’s Matthew Bliss was leading by one after three rounds, but was barely into his fourth round before play had to stop for bad light. The third round was not completed until Friday afternoon after heavy rain disrupted timings on Tuesday and Wednesday.
The Second Stage takes place over four courses in Spain – Costa Ballena Ocean Club, Arcos Gardens, Hacienda del Alamo and El Valle Golf Resort – from November 26 – 29 before the Final Stage at PGA Golf Catalunya Resort in December, where 30 players plus ties will win a European Tour card for 2011.




Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google