Wednesday, December 09, 2009

Duddingston's Robert Denholm wins Professional's

Trophy with a net 69 in East Alliance at Eyemouth

Secretary, Edinburgh & East of Scotland Alliance.
Eighty-seven competitors played in today's East Alliance outing to Eyemouth Golf Club in fine sunny conditions.
Overall winner of the Professional's Trophy was Robert Denholm (Duddingston) with a net 69 off five of a handicap.
The scratch section was won by Bathgate professional Stuart Callan with a two-under-par 70. Stuart got off to a great start with birdies at the second, third and ninth to be out in three under par 32.
Things were a bit tougher on the back nine, however. Stuart dropped shots at the 10th, 14th and 15th, but birdied the 13th and 18th for a one over par 38.
Sharing second place on 71 were Scott Grieve (Turnhouse) and Ross Neill (Drumpellier). Scott had four birdies (fifth, 10th, 16th and 18th) and three dropped shots (fourth, seventh and 15th). Ross had five birdies (first, second, fourth, 13th and 18th), two bogeys (fifth and sixth) and a double (15th).
Joint fourth were Alan Reid (West Lothian) and Terry Mathieson (King's Acre) on level par.
Robert Denholm won the handicap section and the overall competition with a gross 74, less 5, for a net 69. Robert played the front nine in one under par 34 with a birdie at the eighth.
On the tough back nine he dropped shots at 11th, 15th and 16th holes to be back in 40.
Five players shared second spot on net 73: Andrew Rothney (Deer Park) off one, Kenny Reid (West Lothian) off 2, Steven Doyle (Gifford) off 4, Roy Murray (West Lothian) off 8, and Peter Jeffrey (Duddingston) off 13.
Next week's outing is the men's greensomes over the Braids Hills No.1 course in Edinburgh. Edinburgh Thistle Golf Club are our hosts, their clubhouse overlooks the first tee.

Par 72
70 Stuart Callan (Bathgate) p £100.
71 Scott Grieve (Turnhouse) p, Neill Ross (Drumpellier) p £70 each.
72 Alan Reid (West Lothian) p, Terry Mathieson (King's Acre) p £30 each.
69 Robert Denholm (Duddingston) (5) £100 voucher.
73 Andrew Rothney (Deer Park) (1), Kenneth Reid (West Lothian) (2), Steven Doyle (Gifford) (4), Roy Murray (West Lothian) (8), Peter Jeffrey (Duddingston) (13) £40 voucher each.
74 Alan Mackay (Pumpherston) £20.
74 David McKean (Cardrona) £20 voucher.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google