Thursday, October 29, 2009


Scott Jamieson wins Order of Merit,

Paul Doherty jt 7th behind Simon Lilly

Wellingborough's Simon Lilly carded a fantastic final round of 65 to win the PGA EuroPro Tour Championship at De Vere Slaley Hall, Northumberland today by seven shots at eight under par – securing his Challenge Tour card in the process.

Glasgow's Scott Jamieson clinched the Order of Merit title to lead the five qualifiers for next season's Challenge Tour.
Lilly played with the duo he shared the overnight lead with – Chris Hanson (Woodsome Hall) and Paul Doherty (Vale Hotel) – but as they struggled to build on the platform they had set, Lilly stormed out of the blocks with four birdies in the first six holes to seize the initiative.
He then matched that birdie salvo on the back nine by picking up a shot at the 10th then three straight birdies from the 13th moved him to nine under for the tournament before a minor blemish in the shape of a bogey at the last saw him finish at eight under par, seven shots ahead of Steve Surry (Cumberwell Park).
“Obviously with three of us tied for the lead I had winning in my mind and I thought that if I shot somewhere in the 60s I would be hard to beat, but to do that today was just unreal,” said Lilly, who finished fifth on the final Order of Merit standings with the £15,000 winner’s cheque to take the final Challenge Tour card.
“I always like being in contention and I was really looking forward to getting out there,” said the 32 year-old, who won the Tour Championship and Order of Merit on the 2004 EuroPro Tour. “I was happy with my game all week, really liked the lay-out of the course and there wasn’t a tee-shot I hit that I didn’t like.”
Hanson’s bid for the title was all over after dropping four shots in his first four holes. He eventually finished eight over for the day and in a tie for 18th spot, while Doherty went round in 75 to finish two over for the tournament and in a three-way tie for sixth with Colin Roope ( and Paul Maddy (Gog Magog), who shot a three under par 69 in his final round.
The respective slips from Hanson and Doherty opened the door for Surry to move through the field to take second spot with a two under par final round.

Following rounds of 74 and 71, Surry made his move on the front nine with three birdies and just one bogey – consolidating his position with a level par back nine.
Brian McElhinney (Team Ireland) carded a final round of 69 to finish level for the tournament and move into a tie for third spot with Steven Parry (Bolton). A closing 68 by Matthew Ford (Marriot Tudor Park) saw him claim fifth place at one over par – one stroke clear of Paul Maddy in sixth.
Glasgow's Scott Jamieson secured the Order of Merit title as the top three on the money list prior to the event remained the same, with Tom Haylock (Ground Construction Ltd) finishing second and Daniel Brooks (Mill Hill) taking third spot.

The performances of Surry and Lilly saw them claim fourth and fifth spots respectively to form the quintet achieving their Challenge Tour cards for 2010 through the EuroPro Tour.
The top 15 on the money list will travel to Morocco in December to take part in the Samanah Masters 2009 Satellite Tours Grand Finale at the Samanah Country Club in Marrakesh.

Click here for the full final leaderboard from the Tour Championship:

Click here for the final Order of Merit standings from the 2009 PGA EuroPro Tour:


Par 216 (3x72)
208 Simon Lilly 73 70 65 (£15,000).
215 Steve Surry 74 71 70 (£7,500).

216 Brian McElhinney 75 72 69, Steven Parry 73 73 70 (£2,650 each).
217 Matthew Ford 76 73 68 (£1,500).
218 Paul Maddy 73 76 69 (£1,300).
219 James Gill 79 69 71, Colin Roope 73 72 74, Paul Doherty 71 72 76 (£1,000 each).

Other Scots' scores, money:
222 Scott Jamieson 76 75 71 (17th) £460
223 Jack Doherty 73 74, 76 (jt 18th) £400.83
226 Lee Harper 75 77 74 (jt 31st) £292.50
227 Mark Kerr 76 80 71, Elliot Saltman 76 76 75, Duncan Stewart 78 77 72 (jt 33rd) £270

233 Lorne Kelly 78 77 78 (jt 48th) £205
238 Barry Hume 81 77 80 (jt 52nd) £187.50

1 Scott Jamieson £23,492.25
2 Tom Haylock £22,972.41
3 Daniel Brooks £22,274.17
4 Steve Surry £20,922.50
5 Simon Lilly £20,407.02
6 Jack Doherty £17,218.79
7 Paul Dwyer £16,455.00
8 James Busby £15,935.00
9 Elliot Saltman £14,383.57
10 Paul Maddy £14,374.49
11 Graeme Clark £14,245.00
12 Sandeep Grewal £12,031.00
13 Nicky Harris £10,341.83
14 James Ruebotham £9,714.99
15 Matthew Ford £9,662.30



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google