Sunday, September 27, 2009

Bon-Accord Golf Club's history-making quartet (left to right): Barrie Edmond, Matthew Greig, Jason Annand and Graham Somers, with the magnificent Dalswinton Trophy. Image by Cal Carson Golf Agency; click on it to enlarge.


Bon Accord won Deeside Golf Club’s invitation double foursomes club team tournament for the Dalswinton for the first time at the Bieldside course today (Sunday).
Barrie Edmond, Graham Somers, Matthew Greig and Jason Annand totalled 147 – the same as Nigg Bay.
Victory went on the tie-breaking rule of the team with the lowest round to Bon Accord whose Greig and Annand equalled the par of 71. Edmond and Somers combined for a 76.
For Nigg Bay, Ryan Forbes and Dean Yeats had a 73, and Gordon Grimmer and Nick Slater a 74.
Royal Aberdeen and Inchmarlo were only a shot behind in joint third place 148.
Last year’s title-winners, Newmachar, finished joint fifth with Murcar Links on 149.
*The Dalswinton Trophy, originally the property of the Royal Hong Kong Jockey Club, was donated to Deeside Golf Club by one of its members, a Mr Kelman. There are various stories as to how it came into his possession. Rather than put in the "wrong one," we will leave it at that. But it was certainly a lucky day for Deeside when they were gifted what must rank as one of the most impressive trophies in Scottish golf.

FINAL TOTALS (foursomes)
147 BON ACCORD: M Greig & J Annand 71, G Somers & B Edmond 76; NIGG BAY: R Forbes & D Yeats 73, G Grimmer & N Slater 74 (Bon Accord won with best round).
148 ROYAL ABERDEEN: F Clark & C Shaw 72, W D Barclay & M Halliday 76, INCHMARLO: C Hannah & J Douglas 72, G Fisher & R Anderson 76.
149 NEWMACHAR M Lawrence & M McKechnie 70, K Riley & C Simpson 79, MURCAR LINKS: B A Innes & A Styles 74, I Galbraith & A Bews 75.
152 HAZLEHEAD: D Law & S Robertson 74, K Duthie & J Spiers 78.
156 DEESIDE: A B Hutchinson & M Suttie 77, G Rennie & A Jarvie 79, CALEDONIAN: W Ross & S Allan 78, S Smith & D Gardner 78; NORTHERN: C Ross & T Robertson 76, I Watt & C McBain 80).
159 BANCHORY: I Miller & D Brand 75, I Aitken & M Lothian 84.
163 STONEHAVEN: Paul Lindeman & K Murdoch 78, I Taylor & S Soutar 84, CRUDEN BAY: D Milne & A Middleton 79, N McCulloch & A Buchan 84..
164 PORTLETHEN: I Craik & G Iinnes 77, S Lawrie & P Morrison 87.
168 McDONALD ELLON: S McCulloch & M J Stewart 82, E Stewart & A Kerr 86.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google