Tuesday, December 23, 2008

Olazabal completes Europe side with
Nick Dougherty & Pablo Larrazabal

Team captain and selector Jose Maria Olazabal has added Englishmen Nick Dougherty and Spaniard Pablo Larrazabal to his European side to play Asia in the Royal Trophy at Bangkok next month.
Their selection completes Olazabal's eight-man team for the January 9-11 contest, won by Europe on the previous two editions.
Larrazabal, 25, won the French Open in June and was named Rookie of the Year by the European Tour.
"It's such a great honour to be chosen to represent Europe at such an early stage in my professional career," Larrazabal said in a statement. Dougherty's selection comes after wins at the Singapore Masters and Alfred Dunhill Links Championship, as well as several top-five finishes at big contests on the European Tour.
"Nick is a champion and a very solid golfer," said Olazabal, who replaced Spanish compatriot Seve Ballesteros after the five-times Major winner underwent brain surgery.
"I'm confident that he will prove to be of great value."
The matchplay contest will take place in Chonburi, Thailand, and features foursomes, four-balls and singles.
It will be held in Thailand until 2011, after which the venue will alternate between Europe and Asia.
EUROPE - Paul Lawrie (Scotland), Niclas Fasth (Sweden), Oliver Wilson (England), Soren Hansen (Denmark), Johan Edfors (Sweden) Nick Dougherty (England) Paul McGinley (Ireland), Pablo Larrazabal (Spain)
ASIA - Prayad Marksaeng (Thailand), Hideto Tanihara (Japan), Thongchai Jaidee (Thailand), Ryo Ishikawa (Japan), S.K. Ho (South Korea), Liang Wenchong (China), Charlie Wi (South Korea), Toru Taniguchi (Japan).



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google